Fruit Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was too sweet for me. My mother-in-law has made a similar recipe for years. Only in hers there is no condensed milk, no lime juice or cherries. She combines the grapes, mandarin oranges, pineapple with the coconut and marshmallows, and mixes all with 1 - 1 1/2 cups of low-fat sour cream. She then refrigerates it for 3+ hrs or over night. I thought I would give this recipe a try, but it was a lot sweeter and had far too much liquid. We will be going back to the old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
this was pretty sweet and the condensed milk gave it more of a thin-pudding-like texture. I was looking for something a bit more fluffy in texture. Aside from the overwhelming sweetness and texture it did taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmosk06
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Absolutely scrumptious! As other reviewers noted, the recipe makes a lot of juice. I reduced lime juice to 1/4c; used 2c coconut, 2c marshmallows, 2 cans oranges. Added a whole pint of strawberries and 1/3c pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I did not care for this. The texture of the sauce was very syrupy and heavy, kind of a coat-your-mouth thing. I would take cool whip or whipped cream with fruit over this any day. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a very tasty side dish. My family loved it because they said it was light. The lime really makes all the flavors stand out. Like eating a key lime fruit salad. For potlucks, this is what I bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Pokorney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The ambrosia that i make does not call for the condensed milk as that would make it too sweet, i think ambrosia should always be a nice light dessert, i always put in almost a whole bag of marshmellows that way its not too soupy and i let it set a few hours before i serve it, it always turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made this for Easter and it was a big hit! I made the 10 serving recipe and added an extra 8 oz. can of pineapple,I used cuties that I had on hand instead of mandarin oranges and threw in extra of them too.It was delicious!!! I made some tonight,I liked it so much! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I wanted to comment on the amount of liquid. I made the "sauce" the day before using the juice from 1/2 a fresh lime. It did thicken up some. I mixed the fruit, etc, in a seperate bowl on the morning of the party, and only used about 3/4 of the sauce. Other reviewers were right...all of it would have been too much. Next time, I will wait longer to add the oranges, because they fell apart. All & all, this was delicious, and I will definitely make it again! HEADS UP...this served only SEVEN people at MY house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved it. My husband didn't care for the cherries. I will leave those out next time. The marshmallows stay firm which keeps the leftover salad from getting soupy. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States