Frugal Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a tasty, easy recipe that can easily be played around with. I made with whole-wheat spaghettig and omitted the onion and used a bit more cinnamon, garlic and nutmeg than listed. I also used low-fat mozzerella instead of goat cheese as that is what I had on-hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was delicious. Though I did make some changes based on the ingredients I had on hand. I used penne pasta and 1 whole red onion. I mixed the pumpkin ( I used about 20 oz) with the onion and garlic and then added enough chicken stock and half-and-half to make it the proper constistency (no where near 2 C chicken stock). I used only a pinch of cinnamon and it was still way too much, tasted like pumpkin pie. I ended up making it a little too spicy trying to mask the cinnamon taste. Just before it was finished I mixed in about 1/4 C fresh grated parmesan and about 6 oz skim ricotta that I needed to use up. This would have been a five-star recipe without the cinnamon, which is how I will make it in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Turned out Fantastic! even my boyfriend who is not a huge pumpkin fan said it was great and got seconds!. I omitted the red onion, instead of half and half I used fat free sour cream and 4 oz cream cheese instead of the goat cheese. stir frequently! I also used ricotta ravioli instead of spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really didn't like the sauce, but I gave the recipe four stars because my dislike was due to my taste. I decided I REALLY do not like pumpkin! It was very different, and I just couldn't get used to it. If you are looking for something different to try, you might like this, or you might not. How will you know if you don't try?! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Overall quite good. I don't know how the goat cheese is supposed to be "Frugal" I thought it rather pricey. Next time I may substitute cream cheese instead, or just omit. Don't think it really added anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a really easy and very tasty recipe. I made it with twisty pasta and served it with peas and it was a big hit. The only comment that I have is that it makes WAY more than four servings. But who doesn't love leftovers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Neither great nor horrible. The kids wouldn't eat it. I used Feta because that's what I had. Maybe more Feta would make it better. Overall, it just needed to be more robust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This came out really bland and I had to spice it up quite a bit! I added more hot sauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, and added a bit of pumpkin pie spice and ginger. I just could not get it to say, "WOW." Definately not bad. I also added a can of white beans. I enjoyed it, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The pasta sauce didnt have very much taste to it. I had to douse it with parmesan cheese and even then I still wasnt a fan. I dont think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I read the reviews before making this and did make some changes to suit our tastes (I always do). The end result was quite good. In fact, I'm on my way to make it again! The big changes I made is that I added ground beef and sauteed that with the (extra) onions and garlic. I omitted the cinnamon and added some sage instead. This is a pretty frugal meal--with the exception of the goat cheese--and is a nice change from traditional spaghetti.(Do NOT substiitute feta. Totally different flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States