Frugal Pumpkin Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Delicious! I used roasted acorn and butternut squash, homemade chicken stock, homemade chevre', grass-fed cream.... nom, nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Benitez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was really yummy! I needed to use up the other half of a big package of goat cheese and use what we had it the house. It was quick and easy and because I buy the goat cheese at BJs it was indeed frugal! My hubby and kiddos loved it, so it is now in our dinner rotation! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, as I always do on the first shot - no offense to the author, it just wasn't "my thing" - nothing to do with the recipe itself. Some at the table really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I am very picky with sauces and I loved it! Only changes I didn't have fat free half and half so used 1% milk and 3/4 cup nonfat yogurt. I probably used 2-3 oz of goat cheese as the full 8 oz would have packed on the calories and fat. With the reduced amount of goat cheese and addition of nonfat plain yogurt the sauce was still creamy, not too rich. Served on top of spaghetti squash yum! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I read the reviews before making this and did make some changes to suit our tastes (I always do). The end result was quite good. In fact, I'm on my way to make it again! The big changes I made is that I added ground beef and sauteed that with the (extra) onions and garlic. I omitted the cinnamon and added some sage instead. This is a pretty frugal meal--with the exception of the goat cheese--and is a nice change from traditional spaghetti.(Do NOT substiitute feta. Totally different flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was delicious. Though I did make some changes based on the ingredients I had on hand. I used penne pasta and 1 whole red onion. I mixed the pumpkin ( I used about 20 oz) with the onion and garlic and then added enough chicken stock and half-and-half to make it the proper constistency (no where near 2 C chicken stock). I used only a pinch of cinnamon and it was still way too much, tasted like pumpkin pie. I ended up making it a little too spicy trying to mask the cinnamon taste. Just before it was finished I mixed in about 1/4 C fresh grated parmesan and about 6 oz skim ricotta that I needed to use up. This would have been a five-star recipe without the cinnamon, which is how I will make it in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Neither great nor horrible. The kids wouldn't eat it. I used Feta because that's what I had. Maybe more Feta would make it better. Overall, it just needed to be more robust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Turned out Fantastic! even my boyfriend who is not a huge pumpkin fan said it was great and got seconds!. I omitted the red onion, instead of half and half I used fat free sour cream and 4 oz cream cheese instead of the goat cheese. stir frequently! I also used ricotta ravioli instead of spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really didn't like the sauce, but I gave the recipe four stars because my dislike was due to my taste. I decided I REALLY do not like pumpkin! It was very different, and I just couldn't get used to it. If you are looking for something different to try, you might like this, or you might not. How will you know if you don't try?! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This came out really bland and I had to spice it up quite a bit! I added more hot sauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, and added a bit of pumpkin pie spice and ginger. I just could not get it to say, "WOW." Definately not bad. I also added a can of white beans. I enjoyed it, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States