Frozen Summer Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I can't believe more people have not tried this wonderful slush! This same recipe I have made for at least 20 yrs. It is so refreshing on warm summer days and anyone who has had it, loves it! I shave off frozen mixture with a spoon and serve in a glass with just enough Sprite so that it is still slushy frozen. Mix and break up slush with spoon so Sprite is evenly distributed. Should be on the thick side. Gin keeps it from getting so frozen that you can't get it out, so don't leave it out. And yes, you can feel pretty darn good on these! Awesome! Thanks Johanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
We've made this recipe for years with 2 1/2 cups of rum, mixing it with Sprite to form a thick slush. Great for hot summer days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This was great! Made it for a dinner party - everyone loved it. I used Bacardi Limon Rum instead of Gin or Vodka. Some people didn't know it had alcohol in it so beware and warn your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
YUM!!! I kept a big bowl of this in my freezer the entire last month of summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This is a great alternative to the "usual". We've had this recipe in our family for years - but with Amaretto instead of gin. Try it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I had many, many requests for this recipie after a recent party. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Great drink!!! I served it at a Memorial Day party and everyone raved over it. I also used Limon Rum and Sprite, as suggested by others. I've already made it a second time!!! :) I will always have a batch sitting in the freezer for a "ready to serve" drink available at all times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I love this recipe, I was so glad to find it here. I lost mine, and came here to see if anyone had it. I have served this at lots of parties and everyone loves it. Rum works best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Great and simple recipe! Didn't have a heavy "liquor" flavor, and was just perfect on a hot, humid Chicago summer day. Will always keep a batch of this in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I added an extra cup of vodka for a little more kick. It still didn't have a strong liquor flavor. Try freezing for 2 days. It was still a little watery after freezing overnight (and my freezer is at the proper temperature), but was perfect after 2 days. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Frozen Mudslide

Turn coffee liqueur, Irish cream, and vodka into an icy treat.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States