Frozen Pineapple 'Ice Cream' Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe, easy and fun to make. I had a bit of difficulty getting the consistency of the filling right so it was easy enough to spread, but not so melty that it dripped out of the cookies. I ended up blending the mixture then putting it back in the freezer for a day, then microwaving it the next day. I'm sure there was an easier way, but it all worked out in the end. Oh and as other reviewers mentioned, the sandwiches dont really keep more then a week before the grams get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
BIG HIT AT MY HOUSE AND IN THE OFFICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
i freeze on cookie sheet then wrap after they freeze. the graham crackers go soft after a week or so, either way you freeze. i dont know what would help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My husband was talking about how he wanted an ice cream sandwich in the worst way. No money until payday but in searching this site for a comparable recipe, I came across this. I made this lighter using "light" whipped topping and sugar free CHEESECAKE instant pudding. I also used cinnamon graham cracker squares. My youngest child and I had the best time assembling these, sneaking little bites of the filling now and then......so we really only got 12 "sandwiches. This recipe was cake and though it wasn't a true "ice cream sandwich", my husband enjoyed it all the same, as did the rest of us. Great summer treat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I tried these and they are great! I will try a chocolate version with sugar-free pudding and mini-chocolate chips. I did find that letting it chill a bit and was easier to spread and wrap. I was not so crazy about pineapple but no problem. a little extra vanilla and some cinnamon and a whole new flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie1951

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
super easy, fast, and cheap- kids could totally help make these- flavor could be changed easily- going to try all chocolate version next time- could use low fat/ low cal versions of ingredients to easily make a light version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Super easy to make! I added an extra small can of pineapple and rolled the edges in coconut. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I converted this into a chilled pie by putting the filling into a graham crumb crust I made then chilling in the fridge. It was really good - you could probably freeze the pie as well and eat it frozen - very easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I wrote this recipe and wanted to mention it tolerates mandarin oranges in place of the pineapple really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These were tasty. I ended up using all 3 packs of graham crackers in the box so I made a total of 24 sandwiches. Unfortunately they were higher in calories than I thought they would be even using light Cool Whip and reduced fat graham crackers. So everyone else gets to eat them but me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States