Frozen Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Superb frozen treat. For those who found it to be too bland, add 1/8 tsp salt, which will bring the flavor to life. Also added a pinch of soda, since all chocolate chip cookie dough recipes have soda, and it tasted like the real thing. It was very soft, but I had no problem rolling into balls. I used them to bake into the cupcake recipe on this site (long name, like Choc. Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake...) because the dough mixture in that recipe features eggs, and since it is not supposed to bake all the way through, I used this one instead as it does not feature the use of raw eggs. Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Great recipe! We melted chocolate in a double boiler and dipped the frozen balls into the chocolate and then refroze. My daughters want to add sprinkles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Wendy's fast food restaurants have what is called a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough blizzard or freeze. It's vanilla ice cream with a mix-in of these round, small bits of heaven in the form of chocolate chip cookie dough yumminess! THIS is what this recipe provides. As a surprise for our recently Jr. High graduate son's party I made this recipe. The ONLY changes I made for us is NO WALNUTS (to ME AKA I call them 'dirt clods' lol) and I added the whole two cup bag of chocolate chips. This provided the mix to go further for the party and also a guaranteed chip in every cluster! Rather than the messiness of forming the 'balls' of dough by hand, I used two small measuring spoons and scooped up the dough with one and dropped little piles of the soft dough onto two cookie sheets. I froze them in the freezer for only 30 mins and then spatula'ed them into a ziploc bag and back into the freezer until dessert time. I got rave, rave reviews with this recipe. You will too. On the make-your-own-sundae bar our guests sprinkled the dough bits on top of scooped vanilla ice cream and drizzled hot fudge and topped everything with Cool Whip in a can spray. You won't regret this one people. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy pea-sy to make a no-worry cookie dough. I halved the recipe and ended up with about 24 balls. I melted 1 c semi-sweet chips and 2T or so of veg oil to coat them with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Mmmmm...who doesn't like cookie dough?! This recipe is the best!!! I have no idea what people are talking about when they say the recipe is dry and crumbly. I don't even add the water and it's perfect! Maybe they aren't using an electric mixer, I don't know. All in all, I wonderful, must-try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These turned out great! I was looking for make something easy and sweet. I made half of the cookie dough into balls which I dipped into tempered milk chocolate and the other half I rolled into extra small balls so I could add them as a mix-in for ice cream. They tasted better the following day after making them. The evening I made them they tasted very brown sugary which I didn't like at all, but after a day the flavor and texture melded together and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
For the past few days i have been browsing through endless pages of google until i came upon this recipe. If you stir the mixture more thoroughly, the result is fantastic :) Consider this page bookmarked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
These are delicious! I made them without the walnuts. If you've ever eaten the store-bought prepared cookie dough straight from the freezer, this tastes exactly the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We followed the receipe exactly, and it was dry and bland. We added a pinch of salt, and then some white sugar and it became "passable" but I would never make these again or ask anyone other than my family to taste them. I'll stick to sweating it in the kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family and I loved it. I cooked it for my dads b-day. He was soooooooooo happy that I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acolbert1998

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States