Frozen Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Superb frozen treat. For those who found it to be too bland, add 1/8 tsp salt, which will bring the flavor to life. Also added a pinch of soda, since all chocolate chip cookie dough recipes have soda, and it tasted like the real thing. It was very soft, but I had no problem rolling into balls. I used them to bake into the cupcake recipe on this site (long name, like Choc. Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake...) because the dough mixture in that recipe features eggs, and since it is not supposed to bake all the way through, I used this one instead as it does not feature the use of raw eggs. Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Great recipe! We melted chocolate in a double boiler and dipped the frozen balls into the chocolate and then refroze. My daughters want to add sprinkles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Wendy's fast food restaurants have what is called a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough blizzard or freeze. It's vanilla ice cream with a mix-in of these round, small bits of heaven in the form of chocolate chip cookie dough yumminess! THIS is what this recipe provides. As a surprise for our recently Jr. High graduate son's party I made this recipe. The ONLY changes I made for us is NO WALNUTS (to ME AKA I call them 'dirt clods' lol) and I added the whole two cup bag of chocolate chips. This provided the mix to go further for the party and also a guaranteed chip in every cluster! Rather than the messiness of forming the 'balls' of dough by hand, I used two small measuring spoons and scooped up the dough with one and dropped little piles of the soft dough onto two cookie sheets. I froze them in the freezer for only 30 mins and then spatula'ed them into a ziploc bag and back into the freezer until dessert time. I got rave, rave reviews with this recipe. You will too. On the make-your-own-sundae bar our guests sprinkled the dough bits on top of scooped vanilla ice cream and drizzled hot fudge and topped everything with Cool Whip in a can spray. You won't regret this one people. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy pea-sy to make a no-worry cookie dough. I halved the recipe and ended up with about 24 balls. I melted 1 c semi-sweet chips and 2T or so of veg oil to coat them with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Mmmmm...who doesn't like cookie dough?! This recipe is the best!!! I have no idea what people are talking about when they say the recipe is dry and crumbly. I don't even add the water and it's perfect! Maybe they aren't using an electric mixer, I don't know. All in all, I wonderful, must-try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These turned out great! I was looking for make something easy and sweet. I made half of the cookie dough into balls which I dipped into tempered milk chocolate and the other half I rolled into extra small balls so I could add them as a mix-in for ice cream. They tasted better the following day after making them. The evening I made them they tasted very brown sugary which I didn't like at all, but after a day the flavor and texture melded together and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
For the past few days i have been browsing through endless pages of google until i came upon this recipe. If you stir the mixture more thoroughly, the result is fantastic :) Consider this page bookmarked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
These are delicious! I made them without the walnuts. If you've ever eaten the store-bought prepared cookie dough straight from the freezer, this tastes exactly the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We followed the receipe exactly, and it was dry and bland. We added a pinch of salt, and then some white sugar and it became "passable" but I would never make these again or ask anyone other than my family to taste them. I'll stick to sweating it in the kitchen from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family and I loved it. I cooked it for my dads b-day. He was soooooooooo happy that I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acolbert1998

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States