Frozen Banana Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Yummy!! I read the reviews and took some advice but I guess I'm a little dumb because the review said to freeze the bananas first so I did but you need to cut them in half, put the sticks in and peel first then freeze them. Also It helps to use a double boiler not a sauce pan. I put sprinkles on half and crumbled heath bar on the other half and left 2 plain for my sister. I think I might try them with peanut butter chips or mixing them would be really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
In honor of Girl Scouts (and it being that time of the year), try rolling the chocolate covered banana in crushed Thin Mints--yum! definitely freeze the banana first, otherwisethe chocolate doesn't stick well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I make frozen chocolate covered bananas all the time. I put sprinkles, nuts, anything that I have! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Am I the only one that thinks frozen bananas are too hard to eat. It was pretty good, but too hard for me to eat and my kids wouldn't touch them, neither would the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'd like to add a couple of tips to this recipe that I've learned from experience. First, it's really important to let your... bananas ripen until they are covered with *small* brown spots. That ensures that their sugar level is optimal. Next, when you freeze them, do not place them in a freezer bag. Moisture that evaporates from the bananas as they freeze will result in ice crystals on the bananas if it is trapped within a plastic bag. This ice will melt into the chocolate when you dip the bananas and cause the chocolate clump. If you do see ice crystals on the frozen bananas, brush it off prior to dipping them. In addition to being a great tasting treat, frozen bananas are also a good food source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Growing up, my mom always made these for us and they were such a treat! Sometimes she would make them plain and sometimes she would top them with nuts, sprinkles or m&m's. These are so fun and yummy too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
YUM! I used dark chocolate and peanuts (only because I didn't have any crispy cereal). They are a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepperk2

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
What a nice summer treat for kids. They loved it & have sprinkled different cereals on. **TIP** freeze first & the chocolate will stick a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is one of my kids' favorite summer treats. There's so many things you can do with this recipe, it's very flexible. Use white chocolate. Dip it in nuts, coconut, mini chocolate chips, dried fruit. You can even add flavor extract to your favorite chocolate. It's fun to make with the kids and they love eating the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States