Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Poorly written in directions. The strawberries should be added last. Tried modifying what some recommended by beating egg whites separate but still got soup. Way too much sugar too. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is my family's favorite dessert. We have called it "Strawberry Yum" forever, and it has been a tradition to have it for Mother's Day. I substitute pecans for the walnuts, which gives it a nicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deltaville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Tasted good but nobody but me liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted a thicker crust so I increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount ( 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c br sugar, 3/4c chopped walnuts and 3/4 c butter). I finely chopped up 2 c. of fresh strawberries and sprinkled 1T of white sugar over the strawberries to help make it more sweeter and release its' red juices. When I folded the strawberry mixture into the whipped cream, its' juices made a pretty pink color. And when I poured the filling over the crust it made nice pink and white swirls throughout the filling. I froze this dessert for at least 8 hours before cutting into it. Once frozen solid I had no problem cutting into the squares. I placed a dollop of homemade whipped cream from this site,"Sweetened Whipped Cream". This dessert makes a pretty presentation with flecked strawberry bits in the pinkish hue filling. The strawberries are definitely sweet and juicy. The filling itself is light, fluffy and creamy. I like the crunchy toasted walnuts in the crust as well as the topping. It adds a nice texture to the dessert. It is not too sweet -just right. The crust ended up being the right amount for this size dessert and I am glad I increased the amount. We all enjoyed this cool and creamy dessert. Frozen whipped cream blended with chopped strawberries and topped with a crunchy walnut topping, is a refreshing and perfect way to end a hot, humid day here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was really good, and not difficult, although time consumong, to make. I was surprised at the instructions to beat the egg whites with the strawberry slices, sugar and lemon juice. Although some reviewers have said it doesn't work, it does. You just have to beat it for a long time. 25 minutes with my hand mixer. This is definitely a recipe for a stand mixer, if you have one. I used real whipping cream, because I don't like Cool Whip. Wil definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
this is a grate recipe i am makeing this for a wedding and i suggest you do frozen strawberry's so you do not half to add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I don't have a stand mixer, only a hand-held, but taking the people's advice on beating the egg whites first, and then incorporating the ingredients, then beating the whipped cream and adding that in worked great. These were very delicious, but started melting quickly after being taken out of the freezer, so you have to eat them quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denerath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
SOOOO yummy. We substituted granola for the walnuts, as I am not a fan of walnuts. We all ate several helpings - it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These are fantastic in the heat of summer.I use Dream Whip like my mom did growing up.I add a few extra toated walnuts too.Oh sooooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My favorite desert of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States