Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I made this for our staff here at an elementary school. Everyone loved it! I would also recommend taking the dessert out of the freezer at least a half hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
DELICIOUS!! Young and old alike loved this recipe. I would reccommend that you bring the dessert out of the freezer 20-30 minutes before serving to soften a bit. Chris Coffman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
My mom made this when I was growing up and I always thought the crust was the best part (she made it with pecans). I still love the crust. This is a nice light dessert, not too sweet. If your berries aren't the sweetest, you might want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted a thicker crust so I increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount ( 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c br sugar, 3/4c chopped walnuts and 3/4 c butter). I chopped up 2 c. of fresh strawberries and sprinkled 1T of white sugar over the strawberries to help make it more sweeter and release its' red juices. Instead of a ready made topping, I whipped 1 c. of heavy whipping cream, added lemon juice and 1 c. of sugar. When I folded the strawberry mixture into the whipped cream, its' juices made a pretty pink color. And when I poured the filling over the crust it made nice pink and white swirls throughout the filling. I froze this dessert for at least 8 hours before cutting into it. Once frozen solid I had no problem cutting into the squares. I placed a dollop of homemade whipped cream from this site,"Sweetened Whipped Cream". This dessert makes a pretty presentation with flecked strawberry bits in the pinkish hue filling. The strawberries are definitely sweet and juicy. The filling itself is light, fluffy and creamy. I like the crunchy toasted walnuts in the crust as well as the topping. It adds a nice texture to the dessert. It is not too sweet -just right. The crust ended up being the right amount for this size dessert and I am glad I increased the amount. We all enjoyed this cool and creamy dessert. Frozen whipped cream blended with chopped strawberries and topped with a crunchy walnut topping, is a refreshing and perfect way to end a hot, humid day here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
YOWZA!!! I had some strawberries I had to use before they were going to go bad, and this was an excellent way to make use of them! I added a few more chopped pecans to the crust (I didn't have walnuts), and like others, enjoyed it a lot better when thawed. If this treat doesn't satisfy your sweet tooth, I am not sure what will! A new summer fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This recipe is so easy and so yummy. Just make sure you freeze it the whole six hours it says or it will be too soft. This is a big hit with my whole family. A nice alternative to making a cake. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Good recipe. I used strawberry cool whip. I froze it then let it set in fridge. We all loved it. I made it for Easter. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
We liked this recipe, but my husband suggested letting it unthaw for about one half hour before serving as it is difficult to cut and eat when it is frozen, otherwise it was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
I used fatfree cool whip and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Fantastic! Everyone loves this dessert--it is now my most requested potluck contribution :) It is creamy, cold, full of strawberry flavor, and just plain wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States