Frosty Strawberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I wanted a thicker crust so I increased 1 1/2 times the crust amount ( 1 1/2 c flour, 3/4 c br sugar, 3/4c chopped walnuts and 3/4 c butter). I chopped up 2 c. of fresh strawberries and sprinkled 1T of white sugar over the strawberries to help make it more sweeter and release its' red juices. Instead of a ready made topping, I whipped 1 c. of heavy whipping cream, added lemon juice and 1 c. of sugar. When I folded the strawberry mixture into the whipped cream, its' juices made a pretty pink color. And when I poured the filling over the crust it made nice pink and white swirls throughout the filling. I froze this dessert for at least 8 hours before cutting into it. Once frozen solid I had no problem cutting into the squares. I placed a dollop of homemade whipped cream from this site,"Sweetened Whipped Cream". This dessert makes a pretty presentation with flecked strawberry bits in the pinkish hue filling. The strawberries are definitely sweet and juicy. The filling itself is light, fluffy and creamy. I like the crunchy toasted walnuts in the crust as well as the topping. It adds a nice texture to the dessert. It is not too sweet -just right. The crust ended up being the right amount for this size dessert and I am glad I increased the amount. We all enjoyed this cool and creamy dessert. Frozen whipped cream blended with chopped strawberries and topped with a crunchy walnut topping, is a refreshing and perfect way to end a hot, humid day here in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My favorite when I was growing up as a kid! Great for a hot June afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I love this recipe...I use any kind of chopped nuts I may have on hand (last time I used ice cream topping nuts) and instead of the pan I do individual muffin papers...much easier to serve this way !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
YUMMY, YUM, YUM. Loved it. I used Pecans instead of walnuts (just a person nut preference). Delicious. My kids goobles this down and my quests thought it to be the best freezer dessert ever. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I made this for a special feast, everyone loved it! It was so good, now I am making it for a baby shower! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
PINK HEAVEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
My mom made this when I was growing up and I always thought the crust was the best part (she made it with pecans). I still love the crust. This is a nice light dessert, not too sweet. If your berries aren't the sweetest, you might want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
did not like the consistency, if it melts, it's not as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I actually used pecans instead of walnuts, and it came out fine. This reminds me of the strawberry and pretzel dessert I make. This seemed to have wierd instructions on why you had to remove the crust to cool. I didn't, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Fantastic! Everyone loves this dessert--it is now my most requested potluck contribution :) It is creamy, cold, full of strawberry flavor, and just plain wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States