Frosty Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yummy Yummy Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I haven't made anything like this before, and had extra little helpers in the kitchen and we all enjoyed making this, and then the kids devoured them. We made 3 of them and they all turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used SF strawberry jello and NF frozen yogurt. I let the jello cool a bit then folded soft frozen yogurt at the same time I added the strawberries in order to prevent icicles in the pie. This made quite a bit of filling, too much for one 8 inch pie. I poured the excess into dixie cups, let them set up a bit, and stuck popsicle sticks in them. I thought it was okay for a low-sugar, low-fat pie but the family was indifferent. I'd make this again for myself. I think if I were to make this again, I would use frozen sliced strawberries which would cause the jello to firm up a bit, then fold in the frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I'm not a fan, generally, of pies made from a list of pre-packaged ingredients, but tried this one because of the ice cream instead of Cool Whip, and the fresh fruit. My aunt used to make a Jell-O salad with strawberries and ice cream and I loved it. So, perhaps given all that, my expectations were...well, not this. I didn't care for this pie because of the texture (too firm and Jell-O like) and because of the firmness the fruit didn't incorporate well. Based on the other reviews, maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
So good, and easy! I have made this pie so much people think it is a speciality of mine and are always requesting it and asking for the recipe. The times however are off it takes longer for pie to set. HOWEVER.... I have found that if you put the filling and pie in the freezer it sets much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Yum, perfect summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Overall a great recipe, however it is WAY too much filling for a 9 inch pie pan. Additionally, it doesn't include any kind of garnishings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Pretty good. I didn't know what kind of texture to expect with this. I'm not a jello fan, but I liked this a lot. I didn't add the strawberries into the pie, I put them on top, that way the picky eaters would still eat it! Also, the gelatin separated a bit at the bottom of the pie, so there was a tiny sliver of strawberry jello at the bottom. My husband loved it! He thought that the pie looked like the ones from the movie "Hook" that they have the food fight with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very refreshing pie that we all enjoyed tonight. Made this in the morning so by the time we were ready for dessert, it was perfect. So good and thanks Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Excellent summer dessert! I took the suggestion of decreasing the hot water so it set well and in good time. You can exchange the strawberries for mandarin oranges and use orange geletin for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States