Frosty Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
The pie was very tasty! The only thing is that is took much longer than 20 minutes to firm. Maybe it was just me, but we even put in in the refrigerator and it still didn't firm. But it was very easy, and very tasty. If you like strawberry, you'll love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
The pie was okay. But it took a lot longer than recipe said for the mixture to harden. But pie was fairly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
A bit messy... I've only refrigerated it, so i wonder if letting it set in the freezer would turn out... Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This recipe was very tasty. Although it did take longer for the pie to firm then stated, it was a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
I found it to work much better when I eventually froze it, as it never really appeared set in the fridge, despite 5 hours of chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is an easy and delicious make ahead dessert, but I substituted a walnut crust for the graham cracker crust == even MORE scrumptious!!! The strawberries with the walnuts = an interesting, complimentary, and unexpected taste combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I had something similar to this recipe as a child and I've been looking for it for years. The texture of jello and ice cream together was so unusual that I've always remembered it. This pie is pretty good, although my kids didn't like it. I made it with only 1 cup of water, and it firmed up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Excellent summer dessert! I took the suggestion of decreasing the hot water so it set well and in good time. You can exchange the strawberries for mandarin oranges and use orange geletin for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very refreshing pie that we all enjoyed tonight. Made this in the morning so by the time we were ready for dessert, it was perfect. So good and thanks Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Pretty good. I didn't know what kind of texture to expect with this. I'm not a jello fan, but I liked this a lot. I didn't add the strawberries into the pie, I put them on top, that way the picky eaters would still eat it! Also, the gelatin separated a bit at the bottom of the pie, so there was a tiny sliver of strawberry jello at the bottom. My husband loved it! He thought that the pie looked like the ones from the movie "Hook" that they have the food fight with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States