Frosting for German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
OH man..I could eat this frosting till I couldn't see straight anymore. I love german chocolate cake...(no one's is as good as my mema's) but the frosting makes up for that. Our regular recipe calls for either milk or evaporated milk I believe, but half and half is certainly a great substitute. Thanks so much Sierra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Frosting was great! Tasted great on the german chocolate cake recipe. I changed one thing, I used pecans instead of the walnuts. Be sure to let it set to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXMUSTANG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I personally don't care for german chocolate cake, but made it for a party and everyone seemed to love it. Next time I will add a little more cornstarch because the frosting was a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This was exactly the taste I remember when my grandmother made this cake. I have been searching for this recipe forever! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
My husband wanted a homemade frosting for german chocolate cake so i came to all recipes their were many but i decided to try this one and am soo glad i did it just yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Excellent recipe! I added an entire bag of coconut rather than just a cup - this helped thicken it and made it absolutely delicious! Thank you Sierra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This was so good!! Ordinarily i hate german chocolate frosting but this was so much better and had a fresher,better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I have been looking for a good GC frosting -- this was it! I must admit, though, I used pecans, not walnuts. I'm fairly certain (??) that tradition would have you use pecans for a GC cake... besides, I am allergic to walnuts, so that never would have worked. :) It turned out great -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My boyfriend started eating this frosting with a spoon it was SO good. One word of advice, wisk the cornstarch in with the half/half first so there are no lumps later. I used Pecans and toasted both them and the coconut as others suggested, it was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
perfect for my german chocolate cake! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States