Frosting for German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My boyfriend started eating this frosting with a spoon it was SO good. One word of advice, wisk the cornstarch in with the half/half first so there are no lumps later. I used Pecans and toasted both them and the coconut as others suggested, it was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
OH man..I could eat this frosting till I couldn't see straight anymore. I love german chocolate cake...(no one's is as good as my mema's) but the frosting makes up for that. Our regular recipe calls for either milk or evaporated milk I believe, but half and half is certainly a great substitute. Thanks so much Sierra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I have been looking for a good GC frosting -- this was it! I must admit, though, I used pecans, not walnuts. I'm fairly certain (??) that tradition would have you use pecans for a GC cake... besides, I am allergic to walnuts, so that never would have worked. :) It turned out great -- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Frosting was great! Tasted great on the german chocolate cake recipe. I changed one thing, I used pecans instead of the walnuts. Be sure to let it set to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXMUSTANG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and substituted pecans for the walnuts. I also toasted the pecans and coconut first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is my go-to recipe for german chocolate cake frosting ... so unbelievably good! My husband's all time favorite. The eggs must be tempered or you will have cooked egg in your frosting. I get the half & half, butter, sugar & cornstarch to a near boil then take out a small amount to temper with the yolks. Slowly add the whipped egg yolks into it, then slowly add all back into the pan - be sure to stir constantly with a whisk while pouring into pan. You must bring it all to a full boil to get the mixture to a thick custard like consistency. Then add the coconut & nuts. I do add about 1-1/2 cups of coconut to get a thicker frosting like consistency. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Very tasty!! This frosting is not sickeningly sugary like some frostings, and I would willingly eat it even without a cake under it... However, be VERY careful not to overheat the frosting; on one memorable occasion I ended up picking out bits of cooked yolk at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This frosting was a bit loose, but the taste was wonderful and I would use it again. Next time I may boil it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
MADE THIS RECIPE & I ADDED 1/2 TEASPOON COCONUT EXTRACT. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY DIVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Creamy and delicious. I made Chocolate Wacky Cake VIII from this site and wanted to splurged by frosting it with a German chocolate cake frosting because I love coconut and pecans and was happy when I found this one because it doesn't use canned products which sometimes leave behind that "canned" taste. This frosting wasn't sickening sweet and the half and half (by the way I used fat-free and doubled the cornstarch just to make sure it would be thick enough) made it wonderful ... the fresh cream blended well with the other ingredients. At first I didn't think it would set up enough but it did. My version did not make a thick sticky frosting like other cake frostings but I spread it out over a single layer cake and refridgerated it and it set up well. I substituted pecans for the walnuts and used both more nuts and coconut just because with an added tsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States