Frosting for German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The best frosting I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My family LOVES this frosting!!!! The only thing different that I do is instead of the white sugar I use packed brown sugar. We like the more "caramel butter" taste that it gives the frosting. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
delicious, my kids couldn't get enough of the icing, the cake stayed but the icing dissapeared!! I stirred on low for about 30 mins to get it to a nice thick pudding like consistency. I didn't use cornstarch or coconut but added vanilla. If you don't stir for the full time you will get lumps as the egg will curdle. This is a similar method to making pastry cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
It just tasted too eggy. My family felt that the egg yolk taste was overwhelming. It tasted like a custard, not frosting. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
MADE THIS RECIPE & I ADDED 1/2 TEASPOON COCONUT EXTRACT. IT WAS ABSOLUTELY DIVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This frosting is awesome! I always double it and add 4TBS cornstarch. It sets up perfectly! I always add 1 bag of coconut and 1 bag of walnuts. One time I forgot the eggs accidentally, but it turned out great! Tasted the same! So now I don't use the eggs and it still tastes great. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
wonderful! i accidently left out the butter and it was the perfect consistency to frost my cake with. would also recommend a little vanilla and a pinch of salt to add even better flavor. (i also used pecans instead of walnuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The frosting tasted delicious, but not very thick/creamy- although I'm not sure it was supposed to be? It would have helped to have suggestions for how long to cook it. I basically poured it onto the cake and it dribbled down the sides. Was that supposed to happen? Also, large quantity! I only used about half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used pecans and toted them with the coconut and then add extra non-tosted coconut. This was the best I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious frosting. Tip of advice though, SLOWLY incorporate the corn starch into the mixture to avoid clumps and also, whisk the egg yolks in a separate bowl before adding to mixture. The first time I made this I had chunks of egg in the mixture and had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malimomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States