Frosting for German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is my go-to recipe for german chocolate cake frosting ... so unbelievably good! My husband's all time favorite. The eggs must be tempered or you will have cooked egg in your frosting. I get the half & half, butter, sugar & cornstarch to a near boil then take out a small amount to temper with the yolks. Slowly add the whipped egg yolks into it, then slowly add all back into the pan - be sure to stir constantly with a whisk while pouring into pan. You must bring it all to a full boil to get the mixture to a thick custard like consistency. Then add the coconut & nuts. I do add about 1-1/2 cups of coconut to get a thicker frosting like consistency. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Tasted good but subsistancy was too loose, The melted butter seemed to appear as frosting cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
VERY disappointed. Very bland, and not at all what I have ever had on a German chocolate cake. This took more work, more expensive ingredients, and was far inferior to the regular brown sugar recipe. This is NOT a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Creamy and delicious. I made Chocolate Wacky Cake VIII from this site and wanted to splurged by frosting it with a German chocolate cake frosting because I love coconut and pecans and was happy when I found this one because it doesn't use canned products which sometimes leave behind that "canned" taste. This frosting wasn't sickening sweet and the half and half (by the way I used fat-free and doubled the cornstarch just to make sure it would be thick enough) made it wonderful ... the fresh cream blended well with the other ingredients. At first I didn't think it would set up enough but it did. My version did not make a thick sticky frosting like other cake frostings but I spread it out over a single layer cake and refridgerated it and it set up well. I substituted pecans for the walnuts and used both more nuts and coconut just because with an added tsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was wonderful. My husband requested German Chocolate Cake for his birthday and we thought it was perfect. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla flavoring and substitued 3/4 pecans for the walnuts(because I have lots of pecans). My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Excellent and easy. But I did wait to add the butter and 1 tsp. of vanilla after it has boiled for 2 minutes..Also get a difuser ( your pan can sit on it instead of using a double boiler) and it won't scorch or leave you with pieces of egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is WONDERFUL! I did not have half and half, so deceided to try it with regular milk. I used a heaping tabelspoon full of corn starch, just in case. It turned out fine. Thanks for sharing. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but my eye yolks were visible against the soft white of the frosting making me wonder, why the heck do we need to use egg yolks???? I did add vanilla to try to cover up the yellow. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great frosting! I made it with toasted Coconut and Pecans and added 1/2 cup extra coconut and an extra tsp of cornstarch which I mixed into heavy whipping cream (what I had on hand) plus 2 tsp vanilla- little salt. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Excellent!! I made no changes and love it the way it is! Make sure you cool it enough before putting it on the cake. Last time I made it I was in a hurry and it "oozed" off of the cake. Still amazing, but not as pretty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States