Frosting Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
My mother in law also made this frosting, the tips she told me to having it turn out good were to always use whole milk and to have patience. It takes about 10-15 minutes of beating (easier in a stand mixer). My personal preference is to use this frosting on a cake that is kept in the fridge. Jello cake is excellent much better then the standard cool whip. Also I learned the first time I ever made this not to taste it til it was completely done, IT WILL TASTE AWFUL before its mixed til fluffy, it sets up to a firm frosting on a fridge cake. I also stick it in the fridge for a few minutes before I frost my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was good and easy to make. I used 1 cup of butter instead of shortening and margarine. You definitely have to add the milk slowly and mix it for a bit til it's a nice texture. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Needed some frosting in a pinch, and this worked out great. It was pretty basic, but i suppose it's supposed to be. I flavoured mine with vanilla. The flavor of the frosting was pretty decent, a little lacking in complexity (all my mouth was thinking was 'Sugar and butter') Aslo, i would strongly recommend adding the hot milk, very little by little. I accidentally put too much in at once and it melted all of my butter and shortning, and i was left with a runny liquid. I tried to put it in an ice bath, but it never thickened up the way i was hoping it would. Ended up using it still drippy Will probably try this recipe again when i have the need- I like how simple it is to make. Good recipe to know, incase you ever have a frosting emergency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used unsalted butter instead of shortening and margarine; I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and combined half-and-half with 1% milk. I used my KitchenAid stand mixer to whip the frosting and it turned out fluffy, light and not too sweet. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i made this recipe because i didn't have enough confectioners sugar to make the icing i usually make. this was definitely easy to make, and it ended up with a nice consistency- very light and fluffy and easily spreadable. it was mostly bland with a strong aftertaste of shortening, and not at all sweet. i ended up dumping the rest of my confectioners sugar in it to sweeten it up a little and that didn't improve it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Well, it is easy - i'll give it that. However, I really do not care for this frosting at all. I did listen to the advice to let it blend for 15 minutes first, but it still tastes aweful and I'm pretty sure that I did everything correctly - it would be hard not to. I just abhor the taste of shortening and this tastes like crisco mixed with sugar. Sorry, but no thanks. I looked at some other recipes in an effort to fix this. I added one egg white and another 1/2 cup butter. It tastes a lot better and the butter seems to have gotten rid of the shortening taste. it will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
If I could give this no stars I would. I followed the recipe to a tee and all I got was slop. looked like soup in the bowl. I was very upset that I had wasted my ingredients on this. DO NOT MAKE!! For those that had no problem I'd like to know your secret. Very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Novotny-Metott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used butter instead of margarine and shortening and this frosting tasted sooo good and was wonderfully fluffy. I will be using this recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
mine did not turn out good at all, but I had no choice so I had to frost my cake with it. Maybe I didn't beat it long enough (probably mixed it for about 10 minutes) but the sugar didn't dissolve and so it was grainy and very greasy from the shortening I assume. I added a bit of vanilla but that didn't help much. I should just stick with the powdered sugar version I have next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This worked great for me. I used the 1 cup of butter in place of the Shortening and the Margarine and it turned out wonderful. I also used some Strawberry flavoring and put it on a chocolate Birthday cake. Everyone was happy with the outcome. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States