Frosted Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Great, Fast and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Recipe was indeed VERY quick and easy. However I found them to be a bit too sweet (this is saying a lot! I've got a terrible sweet tooth, didn't think there was such a thing as "too sweet".) I may make them again, because they were so quick and easy, but next time I'll add a pinch of salt to the oatmeal mixture and maybe some crushed pretzels or chopped salted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Excellent! I made these for my son's 5th grade class as a breakfast treat during their standardized testing week. It was a huge hit. Even the other students asked for the recipe. It was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Great to make for an instant craving for something sweet. I tossed in some shredded coconut to the hot oat mixture and topped it with white chocolate chips mixed with the peanut butter instead of chocolate chips. If I had nuts on hand it would have been a 5 star for sure! It wasn't overly sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
these are delicious. I did not vary the recipe at all except for adding another 1/2 cup choc chips to the "frosting" and they turned out great. It was hard to wait for the oat mixture to cool (it takes a while) before putting on the frosting and then you have to wait for that to set as well, so I wouldn't exactly call this a quick fix for that reason, but it is such a simple recipe I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants an easy recipe to fix w/ ingredients you almost always have on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
These are incredibly sweet and very sticky and messy. I even put a little salt in the oat mixture. If were going to make them again I'd leave the frosting off and put more ingredients in the oat mixture, like coconut, peanuts, something like that. But I probably won't make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I love these and so does my son! They are a bit messy though, definately not a hiking bar. I think next time I will try to get the frosting on the inside so we can take it camping with us. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
So quick and easy. I loved the chewy texture. I added more chocolate chips to the frosting, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Terrible. Gummy. Messy and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were good, but next time I think I will reduce the butter....1/2 cup turned out to be a too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevellechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States