Frosted Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Great to make for an instant craving for something sweet. I tossed in some shredded coconut to the hot oat mixture and topped it with white chocolate chips mixed with the peanut butter instead of chocolate chips. If I had nuts on hand it would have been a 5 star for sure! It wasn't overly sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Recipe was indeed VERY quick and easy. However I found them to be a bit too sweet (this is saying a lot! I've got a terrible sweet tooth, didn't think there was such a thing as "too sweet".) I may make them again, because they were so quick and easy, but next time I'll add a pinch of salt to the oatmeal mixture and maybe some crushed pretzels or chopped salted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Thought these were a little too sweet. They were too hard if stored in the fridge and too soft if stored on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I love these and so does my son! They are a bit messy though, definately not a hiking bar. I think next time I will try to get the frosting on the inside so we can take it camping with us. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
these are delicious. I did not vary the recipe at all except for adding another 1/2 cup choc chips to the "frosting" and they turned out great. It was hard to wait for the oat mixture to cool (it takes a while) before putting on the frosting and then you have to wait for that to set as well, so I wouldn't exactly call this a quick fix for that reason, but it is such a simple recipe I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants an easy recipe to fix w/ ingredients you almost always have on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
there is something about the topping (pb & choc mixed together and refrigerated) that makes me lose control. i literally cannot eat just one and have to run a marathon to burn off the rest. BUT it's soo worth it! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Easy to make! I had to make these on the stove top, so was thankful for the description of "until bubbly" when cooking the bottom layer. I subbed cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips. These disappeared quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Really easy and quick to make! I used chunky peanut butter and they turned out great =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were good, but next time I think I will reduce the butter....1/2 cup turned out to be a too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevellechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
These are incredibly sweet and very sticky and messy. I even put a little salt in the oat mixture. If were going to make them again I'd leave the frosting off and put more ingredients in the oat mixture, like coconut, peanuts, something like that. But I probably won't make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States