Frosted Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
these are delicious. I did not vary the recipe at all except for adding another 1/2 cup choc chips to the "frosting" and they turned out great. It was hard to wait for the oat mixture to cool (it takes a while) before putting on the frosting and then you have to wait for that to set as well, so I wouldn't exactly call this a quick fix for that reason, but it is such a simple recipe I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants an easy recipe to fix w/ ingredients you almost always have on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I love these and so does my son! They are a bit messy though, definately not a hiking bar. I think next time I will try to get the frosting on the inside so we can take it camping with us. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WriteHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Easy to make! I had to make these on the stove top, so was thankful for the description of "until bubbly" when cooking the bottom layer. I subbed cinnamon chips for the chocolate chips. These disappeared quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Great, Fast and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Excellent! I made these for my son's 5th grade class as a breakfast treat during their standardized testing week. It was a huge hit. Even the other students asked for the recipe. It was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I had lost this quick and easy recipe and am thankful to find it on here. Yes it is sweet and sticky but they are delic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
these quick bars have stopped me buying muesli bars for the kids lunches easy enough for full time working mum with three kids and we all love them. You can beef them up with some seeds and fruit to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I changed this a little to suit my tastes and what I had on hand: I heated the brown sugar, honey and butter in the microwave until melted and then I stirred in the oatmeal, 1/4 C mixed salted nuts, and 1/4 C M&Ms. Pressed them into a dish and chilled. They were so so good...salty and sweet. Next time, for a little texture, I will add wheat germ or ground flax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe for something simple and quick! My boyfriend loved these! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very tasty. I followed the recipe but put the frosting on directly after the mix was set in the dish. Came out fine. Cut the sections in bite sizes so it doesn't hit too sweet all in one bite. You'll soon crave for another bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States