Frosted Molasses Ginger Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made some changes-- I use butter instead of margarine, and half brown sugar/half white sugar. I only needed to bake them for 6 1/2 minutes which browned the bottom but kept them soft. I added spices (ginger & cinnamon) to the dough with the flour and used a different filling the 2nd time, as the filling (without ginger) was okay but nothing special the first time. Very fun as squirrel sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used only the icing part of this for another cookie and it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
A lot of work. They were good, but I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
these are very good but a little sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breadmaking_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These are really nice cookies for the fall. The dough is quite soft and is easier to work with if chilled for a while. I use graduated flower shaped cutters, it adds an extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hushpuppy723
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
These cookies are what my husbands grandmother used to make. One thing I did different is refrigerate the dough overnight (like grandma used to). I used graduated round cookie cutters for the middle hole and outer circle. Also, we like to eat this cookie soft so after frosting them I put them in a cookie tin overnight with a piece of bread. Then, the next day the cookies are soft and chewy. Thanks for the recipe, my husband, kids and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Yummy. The frosting is what really makes these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Not bad. Nice cookies for the fall, cute with turkey-shaped cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Too much flour makes these crumbly. Addictive if you can get them made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I thought that these were pretty good. I made them for a bake sale. They were bought, but nobody commented on if they were good, also there were no repeat customers. The cookies were firm and thin. They didn't spread much at all when baking. The filling reminded me of the filling in an Oreo, but gingery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States