Frosted Maple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made these cookies for my co-workers. I made two batches, one with dark brown sugar and one with light. I would recommend using dark brown sugar- they are more colorful and hold shapes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These cookies taste great! Easy recipe and quickly made. I let them cook just a little longer so that they are crispy around the edges, otherwise they are soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These cookies are awesome! You definately need to add one cup extra cup of all purpose flour to the recipe and roll out on a well floured surface for them to hold their shape. Instead of the icing listed, I used a royal icing recipe and added a little of the extract to give it a more professional look. Amazing! I wrapped them and sold them at a craft fair recently and they were a huge hit! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These are ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made these tonight to maybe take to my family's house for Thanksgiving. The flavor is fine because I took another member's advice and added more maple flavor to the batter. However, the cookies came out crispy and probably TOO thin. I assume they're supposed to be like a maple snickerdoodle. Maybe it's because I sitrred them too long (the recipe didn't say softened butter although I softened it for about 15 seconds anyway), but I am pretty disappointed. I haven't frosted them yet, but I don't think that will save them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Sooo good. Used margarine instead of butter, as thats what I had... put a little extra baking soda, and maybe 1/4 cup more flour, as people said they spread too much? Ended up with perfect cookies that spread just enough, but held a good shape. As for the icing... I didn't have confectioners sugar, so I put in 1/2 a cup or so of sugar with a little yogurt and marg... blended it up with some maple extract and drizzled that over the cookies. Dried up more like a glaze than icing... but tasted wonderful. The cookies themselves are awesome... totally worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROKENCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLEVANG
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars, because it has GREAT flavor. HOWEVER - I MADE A CHANGE which also resulted in a wonderful 'full' cookie. Something to keep in mind when baking cookies is that if you use butter, your cookie will spread much more than using shortening. After reading several reviews which commented on the cookie recipe spreading a lot, I decided to replace the 3/4 c butter with 1/4 c butter and 1/2 c butter flavor shortening. This change will give your cookie a flakiness or 'shortbread' texture, yet keep it's shape as it cooks without spreading. I also decided to alter the flour - I used 1/2 regular flour and 1/2 self rising flour. This too helped keep the shape. I also put my dough in the freezer for 2 hours to chill (I was working on rolling out a batch of regular sugar cookies) so that when I placed it on my well floured board, it rolled out perfectly. I always hate to see good reviews for a recipe that has been changed, as it really isn't the same recipe if it has been changed up. . . but this was a great base to work with and with the slight alterations, which didn't affect the flavor whatsoever, it will be a cookie recipe that I will use for years to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I love this recipe! They bake up very flat, but that's not a problem. I used a little bit more maple extract in the cookie. They're ok right away, but they get 5 stars from me for waiting until the next day to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Awesome recipe--if you like maple bars/maple flavored things, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
What a delicious cookie! I used this recipe last year and have been "reminded" that I need to make these again for the holiday season this year! This cookis is tasty without the frosting and VERY tasty with the frosting. Nice subtle maple flavor! *note: only drop 1 tbs. or less of dough per cookie & leave 2" space between each for spreading. Do not add more flour, the dough is suppose to be very sticky.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States