Frosted Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These were fun and easy to make. A huge hit with the family and friends. One suggestion, don't use off brand jello, because I did once when making these and the gelatin didn't set up as it should have and was still gooey on the grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astarr80

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Made these for New Years Eve. I didn't read the recipe right, and FROZE (Frosted) the grapes. First time I had frozen grapes, and they were great! Can't wait for summer! Guests, including little kids loved them...I thought they were a little too yucky sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These taste good, but I had a hard time getting mine to set and look pretty. I used black cherry Jello. These are really good, but so are *regular* grapes, so I'm not really sure when I'd make/serve these again (made them this time because they intrigued me!). I followed the tips of many reviewers and stirred in the Jello powder while the grapes were still in the strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These disappear fast! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These grapes were very yummy! We used black cherry jello for half of the red grapes and peach jello for the other half of the red grapes. I loved both. My husband and friend decided they liked the black cherry jello with the red grapes best. We'll be trying other flavors of jello too. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMTN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made these with sugar-free jello (following the suggestion of another review)and the concentration of artificial sweetener came out tasting very chemical-ly. After a night in the fridge, I rinsed the jello off the grapes and with only a hint of the jello flavor they tasted ok. Might try again , but grapes are pretty perfect as is so why bother?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made these to go along with the frosted cranberries I decorated my Christmas dinner table with. I used green grapes and lime jello powder, with a thought to use red and green Christmassy colours. These were really well liked and my guests nibbled on them throughout the meal. I think if I can find nice round shaped grapes they would look a little nicer. Mine were kind of oblong. I will do these and the frosted cranberries for many Christmas dinners to come. Thanks for a very unique idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Holy these rock! Made these for thanksgiving; my bf's sister couldnt stop eating them! Rinse them in a big colander and hit it in the sink a few times to drain. Then put 1/4 of the jello on the grapes and toss in colander until jello is wet. Repeat with the rest of jello. Put them in a bowl in the fridge overnight. This way they arent grainy and theres no mess. Awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
What a treat! We have tried several variations. Our Favorite is black seedless grapes with raspberry Jello. A quick trick is to pour the Jello right onto the grapes in the collander after washing them. Toss them with a spoon before pouring into serving dish. Your hands stay clean and there is no extra Jello in the bottom of your bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Did not like these at all. Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States