Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I LOVE Frosting fruits--grapes, etc. are great using this recipe, too. Just a suggestion, if you want to make it a bit more "decadent". I like to replace the water with brandy, cognac, grand marnier, chambord, etc. Make sure it's chilled first, though. It really adds an expensive taste and presentation to frosted fruits--and is especially nice with frosted grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have been making these for many years, althought my recipe is different and does not call for an "egg". These little gems are addicting!! 2 cups granulated sugar 2 cups water 2 cups fresh cranberries 3/4 cup superfine sugar. boil 2 cups water and sugar until dissolved and soak cranberries for 24 hours. Drain (can reserve sugar water for later use in drinks, roll in superfine (I use regalar) sugar, let dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
What a burst of flavor! So simple to make and a beautiful presentation. Using lovestohost suggestion, I replaced the egg white with light karo and water, mixing it in a bowl and coating the berries all at once by tossing with a spoon. Then I dropped them one by one into a zip lock bag with sugar, gently shaking the bag as I dropped. I poured them onto a cookie sheet to dry. It only took minutes to prepare. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
HELPFUL HINT** Fine or Berry sugar will work best with coating the berries fully. :-) Great Idea! They are amazingly tasty ! You can use this same idea to coat edible flower's (very pretty on pansies), blueberries, rasberries and blackberries are some of my fav's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used blueberries instead and they were amazing! They practically melt in your mouth. I used them to top a cake and they looked beautiful as well. To make the prep clean and easy I placed the berries in a large ziplock bag. Then I poured the egg white mixture into the bag and shook everything gently. Then I poured the berries/egg whites into a strainer. Then I put the sugar in another big baggie and added the strained berries. I shook this bag gently and then poured the sugared berries back into the strainer and sifted the extra sugar out before placing the berries on a parchment lined cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauren11
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious and easy. I brought these to a holiday party and everyone raved. A little more time consuming than I expected as I did about 1-2 lbs of Cranberries, however very pretty in a trifle dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Personally, I LOVED these! Funny how many people just don't like cranberries! I will most certainly make again but in a smaller quantity for myself. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made these on thanksgiving because it was on the homepage as a favorite photo, they were so pretty I just had to try it. They were very easy to make ONCE I realized the trick to coating them: (sorry if this was obvious to you, maybe i'm just slow) Don't roll them around in the sugar with your fingers just drop a couple in the plate with the sugar and gently shake the plate in circular motions, the cranberries will roll around and coat themselves. Once I figured this out I was able to coat the whole bag quickly. As for the taste, the first one is not so good, but after your mouth gets used to the sourness, by the 2nd or 3rd one, you won't be able to stop eating them! And they are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! Just drop a couple on top to instantly make any dessert seem fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
After buying a bag of cranberries for the first time, I popped one in my mouth and was horrified at what I tasted! I must quickly find a way to eat these that won't make me gag! Lo and behold, here we are. I followed other people's suggestions and used corn syrup in place of the egg. Delicious! I gave some to my friend who was reluctant (apparently she had the same thought about cranberries as I did), and we ended up sitting around munching on them, and before we knew it, the whole batch was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
So elegant, and so easy! These were the talk of the evening. I used pastuerized egg whites (in the dairy section). I initially rolled them in super fine baker's sugar, but that ended up turning into a runny mess. So, I rerolled in regular sugar, and had much better results. I made them for a garnish, but was surprised by how many people were eating them - even people who said they normally don't like cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States