Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These make a beautiful garnish for a holiday dessert, or even to be eaten plain. Using the recipe directions they don't take any time at all to make, although they do require drying time. I found I couldn't resist grabbing a few every time I'd pass the counter where they were drying. They are delicious, with the sweet/tart combination and the crunch of the sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are yummy. My family gathers around eating these before dinner every Thanksgiving, they're more popular than the other appetizers! I also use corn syrup with a little water because I don't usually have pasteurized egg whites. Plus corn syrup sounds better with cranberries than uncooked eggs to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just beautiful and delicious! Kind of like a "fresh" sour patch kid! I used 1 tbsp. of light corn syrup in place of the egg because my daughter is allergic to eggs. It was a bit messy and time consuming but so easy for such a pretty and tasty result! I served mine in a crystal bowl and they looked gorgeous. A lot of guests at my in-laws' were a bit too nervous to try them (which is true for everything different at my in-laws'!!) but I sure loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious. My cranberries are extremely tart, and with the sugar they taste almost like sweet and sour candies, which I love. Delish! I took the lazy way out, and mixed the cranberries with the egg and water in a bowl, then drained and mixed the sugar in the bowl with the cranberries. The sugar bunches up a bit that way but they are still pretty and taste great. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought they were a little tart but people loved them at our Family Thanksgiving yesterday. They are beautiful and very festive. I used corn syrup because I didn't have any pasturized egg whites. Next time I'll try to find the egg whites. Also, this would be delicious combined with some candied orange peels mixed in. Love it - thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used 1/2 tablespoon water mixed with 1/2 tablespoon corn syrup in place of the egg whites. Also, I used my food processor to make superfine sugar. Just pulse the 1 cup of sugar about 10-15 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littlepammie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are awesome! Tart and sweet...yum... I used them to decorate around my pumkin cake II from this site. Beautiful presentation for thanksgiving. Will make again. Thank you! Note: be sure to make them a day ahead as they need time to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I must start off saying that I love cranberry anything. So I knew I would love these. So I went out n bought my bag of cranberries and tried one (knowing that they were bitter, but figuring I wouldn't hate them plain). I was wrong! I tried one andwas petrified to take the time to make these!!! But I did anyways and am I glad I did!!! What a difference it makes! They are absolutely delicious!!! The ONLY reason why I did not give them 5 stars is only because of the amount of time they took to make just a small amount. I took the advice of others and dipped them in corn syrup first then the sugar. They are beautiful in a small glass bowl, but they took me about an hour to make a half of a bag! They are so yummy tho and I can't wait to take them to my parents house tomorrow for Thanksgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are so good. I made them last night and I keep grabbing a couple to nibble on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Easy to make and yummy to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States