Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Absolutely the best. I made these as accents for the Christmas cookie plate and they became the stars instead. I would make them again anytime for a healthier, anti-oxident boosting snack. I used 1 egg white and added a little light corn syrup and vanilla. Regular white sugar works best. NOTE: Keep them dry and in an uncovered or aired bowl and they last for a long time. I have had mine for almost 4 weeks and they are still fresh, crisp with a moist berry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
yummy, these were super easy to make and delicious. I'd never had a raw cranberry before and they're really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are a cute decoration. I used corn syrup instead of egg white for safety reasons. Make carefully, or the sugar clumps and the berries look weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cranberries are awesome! Who knew you could eat cranberries raw, without cooking them? The sweet and tart is an excellent combination. I also substituted corn syrup for the pasteurized egg whites. The sugar stuck to the cranberries just fine! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Topel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I probably shouldn't be reviewing because I used Karo syrup and a bit of water...but the same technique. They are elegant and delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Beautiful presentation. I used corn syrup instead of egg white as someone suggested to make these suitable for vegans and people with egg allergies. They are delicious so if you like cranberries try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very tasty. I made this as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were beautiful! I ended up having to use a lot more sugar because it all kept getting soaked by the egg whites and then didn't work. Next time I'll remember to drain the cranberries instead of taking them directly from the bowl with the egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've bitten into a plain cranberry before. Let's just say it was not pleasant. But these! These were amazing! The sweetness of the sugar helps balance out the bitterness and tart of the cranberry. I love it! I took the suggestion of some other people. I replaced the egg with a tablespoon light corn syrup. Also, instead of using regular granulated sugar I used ultrafine sugar (i.e castor sugar, berry sugar). If you don't have ultrafine sugar, pulsing regular granuated sugar in your food processor would work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm going to come right out and say the ONLY reason I made these was because they are pretty, and I wanted to impress my co-workers with my Martha Stewart skillz at our holiday party :) I don't like cranberries and I don't like sour stuff. However, I had to taste just one...and guess what, I couldn't stop! These are like candy! With just the right mix of sweet and sour. And they are SO easy to make---I used other reviewer's suggestions as follows: 1 T corn syrup to 2 T water, toss cranberries in mixture. 1 c sugar in a Ziploc bag. I used a slotted spoon to drain berries well before placing in bag, then closing and tossing well in the sugar. Spread it all out on wax paper on a cookie sheet, and a few hours later I had beautiful, tasty frosted cranberries!!! And I do mean tasty. All of my coworkers raved and several asked for the recipe. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States