Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen P.
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I am putting together little "Baskets of Plenty" for co-workers for Thanksgiving. I needed one little extra thing to add, and I stumbled across this recipe. It's easy, inexpensive, they look festive & beautiful, and taste great!! A second note on these-- I made my first batch last weekend as a trial batch. I bought fresh cranberries from the produce section and let them chill in the fridge for a couple of hours until I was ready to use them. Had no problems. Right now I am working on my second batch- using the extra bag of cranberries I had stored in the freezer. The package says you can store them in the freezer and not to thaw them before using. Well the cranberries are not looking great right now, the egg & water mixture got frosty and dried a little bit first and now sitting in the sugar the are thawing causing the sugar not to stick as well. I will have to periodicaly turn them over in the sugar to make sure they're covered while they dry. So it's safe to say-- for optimum quality, use only chilled fresh cranberries for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
With the use of raw egg this can/could get people ill with samonilla. Another alternative is to use unflavored gelatin in a small amount of water. Simply dip the cranberries into the this mixture and directly into sugar. Place on prepared surface to dry. These are very edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are delightful. I noticed one reviewer gave it only one star because of the use of egg whites. The recipe specifically calls for pasteurized egg whites, which can be found in stores. There is no danger of salmonella with pasteurized egg whites. It deserves four or five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
If you are diabetic, use a sugar substitute like *Splenda*. It tastes the same as using sugar and cuts the calories even lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
While I know that pastuerized whites are safe ;o) I chose to go w/ light corn syrup. I only used a couple of tbp for a light coating (just roll the cranberries in it as you would the sugar but lift them out w/ a fork) to avoid excess. I tried using that pretty decorative sparkly sugar, thinking it would be best for this recipe but I was wrong. Hey, it happens! LOL Regular granulated sugar tastes best, looks best & isn't sticky (the sparkly sugar didn't coat completely while the granulated did). I layed them out to dry on a rack over a cookie sheet. They're beautiful! Thanks KF1065! UPDATE---Just wanted to give y'all a heads up not to keep these in an airtight container. (at least ones made using the corn syrup) They lose their frosted sugary coating & get kinda gooey. The ones I left out in bowls are still perfect. My grndkids loved these & insisted on taking some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This turned out great, and looked so festive! I like the idea another had about rolling them in corn syrup instead of pasteurized egg whites prior to the granulated sugar. I may try that the next time, so they will be even less tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were a great treat. Very unique. I will admit that I took far longer than the 5 minute posted prep time to roll those little cranberries through the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
So easy my husband made it! The berries were beautiful and made the perfect garnish for our cheesecake. Still a bit tart but very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A great addition to the meal...I used them as a garnish,but everyone ate them up...they looked beautiful. I should have taken a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseegrl68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is my favorite kind of recipe -- simple to make and yet very impressive looking! I made these to decorate a cranberry-orange cheesecake for a potluck, and everyone thought it had come from a fancy bakery. I had a hard time finding pasteurized eggs at my grocery store, so I used dried egg white powder (which is pasteurized and guaranteed free of salmonella). Just mix up 2 tsp of egg white powder with 2 tbsp of water and whisk until smooth. This worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States