Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were beautiful! I ended up having to use a lot more sugar because it all kept getting soaked by the egg whites and then didn't work. Next time I'll remember to drain the cranberries instead of taking them directly from the bowl with the egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've bitten into a plain cranberry before. Let's just say it was not pleasant. But these! These were amazing! The sweetness of the sugar helps balance out the bitterness and tart of the cranberry. I love it! I took the suggestion of some other people. I replaced the egg with a tablespoon light corn syrup. Also, instead of using regular granulated sugar I used ultrafine sugar (i.e castor sugar, berry sugar). If you don't have ultrafine sugar, pulsing regular granuated sugar in your food processor would work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm going to come right out and say the ONLY reason I made these was because they are pretty, and I wanted to impress my co-workers with my Martha Stewart skillz at our holiday party :) I don't like cranberries and I don't like sour stuff. However, I had to taste just one...and guess what, I couldn't stop! These are like candy! With just the right mix of sweet and sour. And they are SO easy to make---I used other reviewer's suggestions as follows: 1 T corn syrup to 2 T water, toss cranberries in mixture. 1 c sugar in a Ziploc bag. I used a slotted spoon to drain berries well before placing in bag, then closing and tossing well in the sugar. Spread it all out on wax paper on a cookie sheet, and a few hours later I had beautiful, tasty frosted cranberries!!! And I do mean tasty. All of my coworkers raved and several asked for the recipe. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
We used these for the centerpiece decorations for my daughter's wedding Nov 28 in Williamsburg, VA. The wedding color was red and the cranberries fit Colonial Williamsburg's Christmas style of decorating with fruit. We used pillar candles in hurricane vases and surrounded the candles with the frosted cranberries. They were very easy to make, inexpensive, and made a classy and unusual centerpiece. Even with the sugar they're a bit tart, but many people loved eating the extra frosted cranberries. I found that the amount of water and egg white would cover 4-5 C of berries. To better control the amount of sugar frosting - roll the cranberries in enough sugar to glaze and let dry for an hour, then sprinkle more sugar on top to get the amount of frosting you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy and delicious. My 9 year old prepared these. We used corn syrup. Some tasted very much like grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These make a beautiful garnish for a holiday dessert, or even to be eaten plain. Using the recipe directions they don't take any time at all to make, although they do require drying time. I found I couldn't resist grabbing a few every time I'd pass the counter where they were drying. They are delicious, with the sweet/tart combination and the crunch of the sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are yummy. My family gathers around eating these before dinner every Thanksgiving, they're more popular than the other appetizers! I also use corn syrup with a little water because I don't usually have pasteurized egg whites. Plus corn syrup sounds better with cranberries than uncooked eggs to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just beautiful and delicious! Kind of like a "fresh" sour patch kid! I used 1 tbsp. of light corn syrup in place of the egg because my daughter is allergic to eggs. It was a bit messy and time consuming but so easy for such a pretty and tasty result! I served mine in a crystal bowl and they looked gorgeous. A lot of guests at my in-laws' were a bit too nervous to try them (which is true for everything different at my in-laws'!!) but I sure loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious. My cranberries are extremely tart, and with the sugar they taste almost like sweet and sour candies, which I love. Delish! I took the lazy way out, and mixed the cranberries with the egg and water in a bowl, then drained and mixed the sugar in the bowl with the cranberries. The sugar bunches up a bit that way but they are still pretty and taste great. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought they were a little tart but people loved them at our Family Thanksgiving yesterday. They are beautiful and very festive. I used corn syrup because I didn't have any pasturized egg whites. Next time I'll try to find the egg whites. Also, this would be delicious combined with some candied orange peels mixed in. Love it - thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States