Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
At first I did not really love them, but then they kind of grew on me and were really good. Even the kids loved them. I did not find them hard to roll at all. I used 1 T Karo and 1 T water. They reminded me of those sour sweet candies the kids eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This technique also works on other fruits like grapes. Beautiful results. Don't be afraid of the egg whites. If you handle your food properly and use pasteurized egg whites, you shouldn't have any problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I LOVED these. Such a great idea. I have some tips. The egg whites were essential to use as glue. It firmly cements the sugar on and crystallizes the whole thing. I don't think corn syrup would have produced as good results. I used EGG WHITE POWDER dissolved in water. No salmonella to worry about. Then I found that the sugar gets ruined quickly because the excess binder (egg whites) gunk it up and it's unusable for the intended purpose. So that's what I only used a small amount of sugar at a time in a shallow bowl. I found that dropping the egg white drenched cranberries from high into the sugar cut back on uneven globs of sugar becoming attached. Then I rolled it around and I used them to garnish cranberry cocktails, cranberry mousse, and to put out at dessert just as they are. They're addictive to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
lets just say I can't stop eating them,I'm taking them to my sister's for Thanksgiving if they make it there.they turned out great and I went right by the recipe..love them and I will make them for Christmas.Thank you so much for the great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yummy snack food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These are so pretty! I made them for decoration but they are so good they ended up being eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Unbelievably simple. Got rave (and I mean RAVE) reviews for these. I almost didn't want to admit how easy they were to make! These will be a regular holiday treat in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Used corn syrup instead of egg whites. 3/4 cups sugar probably would have been enough. People that don't normally like cranberries liked these! Used on pumpkin gingerbread (from allrecipies) as decorative topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
there is only one problem with this recipe...you have to make two batches because you will eat one before serving.....i found best to leave out in cookie sheet overnight before eating...fabulous and artful thanks so very much ...a new favorite and easy...hint..drain off liquid before coating then coat again with new sugar to get nice frosty coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
WOW! These are amazing. I had never heard of frosted cranberries, and was truthfully a bit skeptical, but a friend told me about them, and I had to try it. Brought them to family thanksgiving and we couldn't believe how quickly we ate them all. I used pasturized egg whites. These are beautiful as well as delicious. I've ben instructed to bring them to christmas dinner as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States