Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by lauren11
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Delicious and easy. I brought these to a holiday party and everyone raved. A little more time consuming than I expected as I did about 1-2 lbs of Cranberries, however very pretty in a trifle dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Personally, I LOVED these! Funny how many people just don't like cranberries! I will most certainly make again but in a smaller quantity for myself. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made these on thanksgiving because it was on the homepage as a favorite photo, they were so pretty I just had to try it. They were very easy to make ONCE I realized the trick to coating them: (sorry if this was obvious to you, maybe i'm just slow) Don't roll them around in the sugar with your fingers just drop a couple in the plate with the sugar and gently shake the plate in circular motions, the cranberries will roll around and coat themselves. Once I figured this out I was able to coat the whole bag quickly. As for the taste, the first one is not so good, but after your mouth gets used to the sourness, by the 2nd or 3rd one, you won't be able to stop eating them! And they are absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! Just drop a couple on top to instantly make any dessert seem fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
After buying a bag of cranberries for the first time, I popped one in my mouth and was horrified at what I tasted! I must quickly find a way to eat these that won't make me gag! Lo and behold, here we are. I followed other people's suggestions and used corn syrup in place of the egg. Delicious! I gave some to my friend who was reluctant (apparently she had the same thought about cranberries as I did), and we ended up sitting around munching on them, and before we knew it, the whole batch was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
So elegant, and so easy! These were the talk of the evening. I used pastuerized egg whites (in the dairy section). I initially rolled them in super fine baker's sugar, but that ended up turning into a runny mess. So, I rerolled in regular sugar, and had much better results. I made them for a garnish, but was surprised by how many people were eating them - even people who said they normally don't like cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These looked beautiful on my Christmas table. I presented them in a pretty bowl and my guests were so intrigued. My daughter, who can be hard to please sometimes, took home any that were left. I had purchased a bag of fresh cranberries and used half for cranberry sauce and half made up this pretty addition and new Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Simple & Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Awesome. Crowd pleaser. BEAUTIFUL!!! Here are my hints: -If you find it hard to stomach the smell of the egg whites, try substituting the water with orange juice. I did that and my picky guests recognized the difference right away. -Also to make it a little more "festive", I added Allspice, Nutmeg, and Clove (a teeeny tiny bit) just to spice it up a bit. Play around with the quantities to find what suits you best. Amazing recipe. I'm happy I found this!!! b.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These look beautiful but don't taste all that great. I wasn't sure if the egg whites at my grocery store were pasteurized so I used the corn syrup which worked great. I used them to garnish a cheese and fruit plate at Thanksgiving and it made for an awesome presentation (I sprinkled them around on the tray). I definitely would not just sit them out as a snack because they are still very sour but they work great as a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States