Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These make a beautiful garnish for a holiday dessert, or even to be eaten plain. Using the recipe directions they don't take any time at all to make, although they do require drying time. I found I couldn't resist grabbing a few every time I'd pass the counter where they were drying. They are delicious, with the sweet/tart combination and the crunch of the sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are yummy. My family gathers around eating these before dinner every Thanksgiving, they're more popular than the other appetizers! I also use corn syrup with a little water because I don't usually have pasteurized egg whites. Plus corn syrup sounds better with cranberries than uncooked eggs to me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Just beautiful and delicious! Kind of like a "fresh" sour patch kid! I used 1 tbsp. of light corn syrup in place of the egg because my daughter is allergic to eggs. It was a bit messy and time consuming but so easy for such a pretty and tasty result! I served mine in a crystal bowl and they looked gorgeous. A lot of guests at my in-laws' were a bit too nervous to try them (which is true for everything different at my in-laws'!!) but I sure loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious. My cranberries are extremely tart, and with the sugar they taste almost like sweet and sour candies, which I love. Delish! I took the lazy way out, and mixed the cranberries with the egg and water in a bowl, then drained and mixed the sugar in the bowl with the cranberries. The sugar bunches up a bit that way but they are still pretty and taste great. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought they were a little tart but people loved them at our Family Thanksgiving yesterday. They are beautiful and very festive. I used corn syrup because I didn't have any pasturized egg whites. Next time I'll try to find the egg whites. Also, this would be delicious combined with some candied orange peels mixed in. Love it - thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used 1/2 tablespoon water mixed with 1/2 tablespoon corn syrup in place of the egg whites. Also, I used my food processor to make superfine sugar. Just pulse the 1 cup of sugar about 10-15 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littlepammie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are awesome! Tart and sweet...yum... I used them to decorate around my pumkin cake II from this site. Beautiful presentation for thanksgiving. Will make again. Thank you! Note: be sure to make them a day ahead as they need time to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I must start off saying that I love cranberry anything. So I knew I would love these. So I went out n bought my bag of cranberries and tried one (knowing that they were bitter, but figuring I wouldn't hate them plain). I was wrong! I tried one andwas petrified to take the time to make these!!! But I did anyways and am I glad I did!!! What a difference it makes! They are absolutely delicious!!! The ONLY reason why I did not give them 5 stars is only because of the amount of time they took to make just a small amount. I took the advice of others and dipped them in corn syrup first then the sugar. They are beautiful in a small glass bowl, but they took me about an hour to make a half of a bag! They are so yummy tho and I can't wait to take them to my parents house tomorrow for Thanksgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are so good. I made them last night and I keep grabbing a couple to nibble on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Easy to make and yummy to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States