Frosted Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are a cute decoration. I used corn syrup instead of egg white for safety reasons. Make carefully, or the sugar clumps and the berries look weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cranberries are awesome! Who knew you could eat cranberries raw, without cooking them? The sweet and tart is an excellent combination. I also substituted corn syrup for the pasteurized egg whites. The sugar stuck to the cranberries just fine! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I probably shouldn't be reviewing because I used Karo syrup and a bit of water...but the same technique. They are elegant and delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Beautiful presentation. I used corn syrup instead of egg white as someone suggested to make these suitable for vegans and people with egg allergies. They are delicious so if you like cranberries try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very tasty. I made this as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were beautiful! I ended up having to use a lot more sugar because it all kept getting soaked by the egg whites and then didn't work. Next time I'll remember to drain the cranberries instead of taking them directly from the bowl with the egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've bitten into a plain cranberry before. Let's just say it was not pleasant. But these! These were amazing! The sweetness of the sugar helps balance out the bitterness and tart of the cranberry. I love it! I took the suggestion of some other people. I replaced the egg with a tablespoon light corn syrup. Also, instead of using regular granulated sugar I used ultrafine sugar (i.e castor sugar, berry sugar). If you don't have ultrafine sugar, pulsing regular granuated sugar in your food processor would work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm going to come right out and say the ONLY reason I made these was because they are pretty, and I wanted to impress my co-workers with my Martha Stewart skillz at our holiday party :) I don't like cranberries and I don't like sour stuff. However, I had to taste just one...and guess what, I couldn't stop! These are like candy! With just the right mix of sweet and sour. And they are SO easy to make---I used other reviewer's suggestions as follows: 1 T corn syrup to 2 T water, toss cranberries in mixture. 1 c sugar in a Ziploc bag. I used a slotted spoon to drain berries well before placing in bag, then closing and tossing well in the sugar. Spread it all out on wax paper on a cookie sheet, and a few hours later I had beautiful, tasty frosted cranberries!!! And I do mean tasty. All of my coworkers raved and several asked for the recipe. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
We used these for the centerpiece decorations for my daughter's wedding Nov 28 in Williamsburg, VA. The wedding color was red and the cranberries fit Colonial Williamsburg's Christmas style of decorating with fruit. We used pillar candles in hurricane vases and surrounded the candles with the frosted cranberries. They were very easy to make, inexpensive, and made a classy and unusual centerpiece. Even with the sugar they're a bit tart, but many people loved eating the extra frosted cranberries. I found that the amount of water and egg white would cover 4-5 C of berries. To better control the amount of sugar frosting - roll the cranberries in enough sugar to glaze and let dry for an hour, then sprinkle more sugar on top to get the amount of frosting you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy and delicious. My 9 year old prepared these. We used corn syrup. Some tasted very much like grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States