Frosted Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Thank you for this great start to my husbands favorite sweet treat. I changed it just a little- I added a half cup more peanut butter and instead of butterscotch chips I added all chocolate. Thank you I have been looking for this recipie for a year, every time my husband had this he didn't know who made it to ask for the recipe. Such a great time with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe! I just served this for a shower I was having and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
These are wonderful .. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These were so good! I was looking for something that resembled Crispy treats with a chocolate frosting on top but without peanut butter because my husband and daughter are allergic. I did everything exactly the same excluding the peanut butter. I am sure these would be even better with it but had to make something so I would notend up eating them all!! My extended family just raved about these. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Kids and husband love it! Be sure to grease the bottom of the pan well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
These are excellent. My husband and son don't like regular rice krispy treats but they both loved these. These are more substantial and flavorful. Two tips: 1) To make pressing the mix down in the jelly roll pan easier, put a plastic baggie on your hand like a glove and spray the "palm" side with cooking spray; then you can press it down evenly with your hand and not mess with a buttered spoon. 2) Sprinkle the chocolate and butterscotch chips over the top of the still warm, newly pressed down krispy mix; the chips will melt and you can smooth them out with a butter knife so you don't need to clean your double boiler. If they don't melt enough, just slip the pan into a low temp oven and watch carefully until they start to glisten; then you can spread them out. This recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
These bars were amazing!!! The one thing I did differently was substituted the 2 cups of butterscotch chips with 2 cups of Reeses Peanut Butter chips. I LOVE peanut butter! I spread all the chips out on top of the pan and put the pan in a warm oven till they got shiney. Then just spread it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My mother was not interested in cooking but this is one recipe I remember her making and we all loved it. She put the bars in a deeper dish with the "frosting" between the layers. Less messy for lunch boxes or little hands! I brought them as a treat for everyone where I work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I had these bars at a party,loved them. Tried to find the recipe, found it here! Great recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My daughter's favorite! She's already asked if I'll make them for her class which started yesterday! I always try to use up cereals that aren't getting eaten like cheerios or chex or other less sugary ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDYKAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States