Frosted Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
These are excellent. My husband and son don't like regular rice krispy treats but they both loved these. These are more substantial and flavorful. Two tips: 1) To make pressing the mix down in the jelly roll pan easier, put a plastic baggie on your hand like a glove and spray the "palm" side with cooking spray; then you can press it down evenly with your hand and not mess with a buttered spoon. 2) Sprinkle the chocolate and butterscotch chips over the top of the still warm, newly pressed down krispy mix; the chips will melt and you can smooth them out with a butter knife so you don't need to clean your double boiler. If they don't melt enough, just slip the pan into a low temp oven and watch carefully until they start to glisten; then you can spread them out. This recipe makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Thank you for this great start to my husbands favorite sweet treat. I changed it just a little- I added a half cup more peanut butter and instead of butterscotch chips I added all chocolate. Thank you I have been looking for this recipie for a year, every time my husband had this he didn't know who made it to ask for the recipe. Such a great time with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
These are wonderful .. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
These bars were amazing!!! The one thing I did differently was substituted the 2 cups of butterscotch chips with 2 cups of Reeses Peanut Butter chips. I LOVE peanut butter! I spread all the chips out on top of the pan and put the pan in a warm oven till they got shiney. Then just spread it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe! I just served this for a shower I was having and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These were so good! I was looking for something that resembled Crispy treats with a chocolate frosting on top but without peanut butter because my husband and daughter are allergic. I did everything exactly the same excluding the peanut butter. I am sure these would be even better with it but had to make something so I would notend up eating them all!! My extended family just raved about these. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I would like to try these again, but would use chocolate chips only for the topping. The butterscotch chips added a strange chemical-like taste that we didn't care for. A half batch of these worked well in a 9-inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great recipe for a different twist on the ordinary Rice Krispy Treats! Again I am testing recipes for our annual Breast Cancer bake sale going on for the month of October. The recipes I find on here are usually winners and reading what comments everyone posts on here are very helpful as I just tossed the chocolate chips on put the oven on to broil for about a minute or two then spread it gave it a nice looking topping instead of just plain one color brown, next time I might add in some white chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very tasty, but a bit difficult to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I only had a 10 ounce bag of marshmallows, so I had to scale the recipe down. I made it 12 servings and everything worked out great. Delicious - they're a little more substantial than regular Krispie treats, and the peanut butter adds to these in a good way. I melted chocolate and peanut butter chips and used a fork to make a design on top rather than mixing them together. I think they're prettier this way, and will make a great treat for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States