Frosted Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angie Seaman
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I only had a 10 ounce bag of marshmallows, so I had to scale the recipe down. I made it 12 servings and everything worked out great. Delicious - they're a little more substantial than regular Krispie treats, and the peanut butter adds to these in a good way. I melted chocolate and peanut butter chips and used a fork to make a design on top rather than mixing them together. I think they're prettier this way, and will make a great treat for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I made these to take to work and they were a huge hit, not a single one left on the plate! They turned out perfectly! The only thing I did differently was substitute 1 cup of the butterscotch chips with 1 cup of peanut butter chips to help cut back on the sweetness. Even with this small change, they are still very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrobb77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great recipe for a different twist on the ordinary Rice Krispy Treats! Again I am testing recipes for our annual Breast Cancer bake sale going on for the month of October. The recipes I find on here are usually winners and reading what comments everyone posts on here are very helpful as I just tossed the chocolate chips on put the oven on to broil for about a minute or two then spread it gave it a nice looking topping instead of just plain one color brown, next time I might add in some white chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These were very very good. The peanut butter and sugar made these too sweet for us, though. I made these to bring to a Halloween party and added Halloween sprinkles on top. Everyone raved about them. I will reduce the sugar if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow!! This was DELICIOUS!! I cut the recipe in half and made in an 11x7 pan (and had a little extra that I squashed into a bowl). I also used 1.5 cups butterscotch chips and .5 cups chocolate chips, rather than half of each since I was looking to use up my butterscotch chips. I also used giant marshmallows and only had 6 oz (called for 8 oz of minis). These turned out AMAZING! This recipe is a keeper - best rice krispie treats ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My daughter's favorite! She's already asked if I'll make them for her class which started yesterday! I always try to use up cereals that aren't getting eaten like cheerios or chex or other less sugary ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANDYKAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I had these bars at a party,loved them. Tried to find the recipe, found it here! Great recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My mother was not interested in cooking but this is one recipe I remember her making and we all loved it. She put the bars in a deeper dish with the "frosting" between the layers. Less messy for lunch boxes or little hands! I brought them as a treat for everyone where I work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
These bars were amazing!!! The one thing I did differently was substituted the 2 cups of butterscotch chips with 2 cups of Reeses Peanut Butter chips. I LOVE peanut butter! I spread all the chips out on top of the pan and put the pan in a warm oven till they got shiney. Then just spread it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States