Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Thought it was a great way to use up bananas that's been sitting in my freezer. Didn't feel like making banana bread. I made the cream cheese frosting from AR's "banana cake VI".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Yummy!!! So good, these are so moist and full of flavor. I made Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site to go on them, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Made them almost exactly as stated. I used about 3/4 cup of sour cream and about 1 and 1/2 c mashes bananas. I also subbed half brown sugar and included about 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I baked them at 350 in convection oven for about12 min and they were perfectly done. I used the whipped cream cream cheese frosting tinted yellow and they are very good. My kids loved them! Might add nuts next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
"Wow's" from the whole bunch of my boys, including Dad. I only added a little pineapple because I was short on ripe bananas and used 1 C of Sugar and used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c coconut oil. LOVE the pineapple addition...The hubs requested for his birthday, in Dec, immediately. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These bars came out so light and fluffy and so different from regular banana bread. I used fat free plain yogurt, a bit less sugar, and a store bought chocolate frosting. Next time I'd skip the frosting these bars are great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These are great! I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown, and baked in a 9x13 pan. I had to bake it a bit longer - maybe 35 minutes. The middle fell a bit, but it didn't matter. They are very moist and dense, but still cake-like. Sort of like a banana brownie, if that makes any sense. I frosted half and froze half; tried both Cream Cheese Frosting II and the banana frosting a few other reviewers mentioned. The banana frosting wins, hands-down, and is lower in fat, besides! Thanks for the recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Once people try these, they come back for seconds, thirds... I make them in the 10 x 15 pan (aka jellyroll) pan so they are about an inch or so thick. The sour cream adds a lot, and when I've compared this recipe to others, it seems to be unique. Make sure you add it or add plain yogurt (I've done both). I do tend to cut back on the sugar - maybe a scant cup of white and a 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Husband's coworkers loved these! So much better than plain ol' banana bread! I used two containers of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These are wonderful!! I used 1 c. white flour and 3/4ish cup of whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 c. flax meal. 1 real egg and 1 equivalent with ener-g egg substitute, 1 c.non fat greek yogurt, 3 overripe bananas, and 1 c. sucanat to replace the white sugar. They were super moist and heavy in flavor!! I made the cream cheese frosting II as suggested. Heaven in my mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
These were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stratford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States