Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These bars came out so light and fluffy and so different from regular banana bread. I used fat free plain yogurt, a bit less sugar, and a store bought chocolate frosting. Next time I'd skip the frosting these bars are great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These are great! I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown, and baked in a 9x13 pan. I had to bake it a bit longer - maybe 35 minutes. The middle fell a bit, but it didn't matter. They are very moist and dense, but still cake-like. Sort of like a banana brownie, if that makes any sense. I frosted half and froze half; tried both Cream Cheese Frosting II and the banana frosting a few other reviewers mentioned. The banana frosting wins, hands-down, and is lower in fat, besides! Thanks for the recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Once people try these, they come back for seconds, thirds... I make them in the 10 x 15 pan (aka jellyroll) pan so they are about an inch or so thick. The sour cream adds a lot, and when I've compared this recipe to others, it seems to be unique. Make sure you add it or add plain yogurt (I've done both). I do tend to cut back on the sugar - maybe a scant cup of white and a 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Husband's coworkers loved these! So much better than plain ol' banana bread! I used two containers of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These are wonderful!! I used 1 c. white flour and 3/4ish cup of whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 c. flax meal. 1 real egg and 1 equivalent with ener-g egg substitute, 1 c.non fat greek yogurt, 3 overripe bananas, and 1 c. sucanat to replace the white sugar. They were super moist and heavy in flavor!! I made the cream cheese frosting II as suggested. Heaven in my mouth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
These were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stratford, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
These were super Yummy not to mention simple to make. The only thing I changed was to make home made cream cheese frosting instead of the canned stuff with the trans fat. It may be weird, but my favorite recipe for cc frosting is the Clone of a Cinnabon one here on Allrecipes. Oh man, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Although not bad, I've made (and sampled) many banana bars that are far better than these were. Since I had several perfectly ripened, snack-size bananas that needed to be used up quickly, I decided to give this a whirl. If for nothing other than finding a use for bananas that would have otherwise gone to waste, I'm glad to have stumbled upon this easy recipe. NOTE: One reviewer suggested refrigerating these to make cutting easier. Doing so actually made my bars taste worse! Even at room temperature, my bars tasted "off." I attribute this to placing them in the fridge in the first place (it altered their texture). :( Mishap aside, these just aren't for me. Maybe these will float your boat, but they didn't mine. Thanks anyways, deltaj. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I took these to a neighbors house for a dessert, the kids ate almost the entire pan! Major hit with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These had a great flavor and I liked them a lot, but I'm not sure what I did wrong, because these came out moist, but crumbly like a box cake mix instead of dense and chewy like I would expect a "bar" to be. They fell apart easily when trying to cut them and get them out of the pan. I frosted them with a cream cheese icing and they tasted great. Just need to tweak the recipe somehow to get them to come out more dense for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States