Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
These were super Yummy not to mention simple to make. The only thing I changed was to make home made cream cheese frosting instead of the canned stuff with the trans fat. It may be weird, but my favorite recipe for cc frosting is the Clone of a Cinnabon one here on Allrecipes. Oh man, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Although not bad, I've made (and sampled) many banana bars that are far better than these were. Since I had several perfectly ripened, snack-size bananas that needed to be used up quickly, I decided to give this a whirl. If for nothing other than finding a use for bananas that would have otherwise gone to waste, I'm glad to have stumbled upon this easy recipe. NOTE: One reviewer suggested refrigerating these to make cutting easier. Doing so actually made my bars taste worse! Even at room temperature, my bars tasted "off." I attribute this to placing them in the fridge in the first place (it altered their texture). :( Mishap aside, these just aren't for me. Maybe these will float your boat, but they didn't mine. Thanks anyways, deltaj. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I took these to a neighbors house for a dessert, the kids ate almost the entire pan! Major hit with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Liberty, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
These had a great flavor and I liked them a lot, but I'm not sure what I did wrong, because these came out moist, but crumbly like a box cake mix instead of dense and chewy like I would expect a "bar" to be. They fell apart easily when trying to cut them and get them out of the pan. I frosted them with a cream cheese icing and they tasted great. Just need to tweak the recipe somehow to get them to come out more dense for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
OMG! These were excellent, I also added 3/4 cup of butterscotch chips and 3/4 cup of walnuts and couldn't keep them in the house! Def 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My family ate these so fast, they were awesome. They were best a little cold. Would definitely recommend this to everyoneA++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
So simple, so fast, so good! Home made frosting a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Definitely a new family favourite! So quick and easy, with delicious results. I sprinkled chopped walnuts over the icing for a bit of crunch. Used light sour cream with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made this cake in a 12X17 pan, so baked for only about 15 minutes. Used a home-made cream cheese frosting. YUM! Loved by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookbook Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Great recipe. I added a bit of cinnamon and chocolate chips. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States