Frosted Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were amazing!!! I planned on not having any but once I took them to work and people were going back for seconds (and thirds) I had to try one. My bars came out super light and fluffy with just enough cream cheese frosting. If I could give 10 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
We love this recipe! We make it about twice a month, and everyone I've given the recipe to loves it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I attempted to make a low-fat version of this recipe, and it still turned out delicious. I used low-fat butter (the Kroger brand) and reduced fat sour cream. I also cut out approximately 1/3 cup of the sugar. Nevertheless, the cake turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
NUMMY!! These turned out to be more of a cake than a bar. I used a 9x13 pan and baked for 30 minutes. I added walnut pieces, made my own cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with more walnut pieces. I got many compliments. I will definately be making these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is incredible. I've had so many requests for the recipe I know it by heart. I use a 10 x 17 cookie sheet with a lip - it fits perfectly. Also use a cream cheese frosting from this site 8 oz cream cheese 1 stick butter 1 c sifted powdered sugar and 1/2 t vanilla - perfect amount for the bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
We made 2 batches, one with half whole wheat flour and the other just as the recipe was written. Family thought they were disappointing cake. We all preferred the Banana Oatmeal Drop Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I had ripe bananas I needed to use up and wanted to try something other than regula rol' banana bread - and am I ever glad I did! These are delicious! I made them with the whipped cream cheese frosting as suggested and was very impressed! Why would you use store bought icing if you don't have to??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These are terrific - very moist and lots of banana flavor. I subbed FF greek yogurt for the sour cream and used a homemade cream cheese frosting. My son-in-law couldn't stop eating them. He said they reminded him of a banana cheesecake he had eaten once. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were awesome. I took them to a football pep rally and the ladies in the kitchen tried them and decided to hide them in the back for coaches and themselves. I've had several emails asking for the recipes. I subbed ff yogurt for the sour cream and used white whole wheat flour and homemade cream cheese frosting. SOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Absolute best use for over-ripe bananas. I've made these several times and they're always a hit. Today I made them using a mini-muffin pan and cups. They were just as moist and wonderful as the bars. I added about 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips chopped into small pieces. Only baked them for 17 minutes. Piped on the frosting to give it a gourmet look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States