Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
I first had this meal in McClellanville, South Carolina. It is terrific and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
South Carolina, here I come! This recipe does not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
We love this....Have made it for company several times, and everyone loves it. The presentation is fun, I tell everyone to wear their old clothes, something comfortable. We put all of the food out on newspapers, and use paper plates. Clean up is great, silverware and the pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is not only great food, but great fun when you serve it all loose on the table. I added baby carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Great tailgate food. We use this at football games at least twice a season. We usually use frozen ears of corn that have been cut into thirds to make it easier. Try to use a pot that has a stariner basket to make it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I made this for my inlaws and it was a huge hit. We were all stuffed to the gills with this wonderful meal. I changed the proportions a bit, using 8 ears of corn and 3 pounds of potatoes. I also didn't peel the potatoes. We will be making this fantastic meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Perfect Frogmore Stew! I lived in Charleston, SC for 7 years and fell in love with this dish...I had never made it before though, so when I saw this recipe I had to give it a try. I was making dinner for my future in-laws and decided to try it out on them. They LOVED it and have asked me to make it again. I am a novice cook and it was absolutely perfect, so this recipe is simple and delicious. It will be a standard in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Everyone here in Charleston talks about Frogmore Stew and how wonderful it is. I tried it and my family loved it! I've tried this several times and have come up with a little revision. I also add 1 can of Lite Beer to the pot and a couple of Bay Leaves. I even add Crab Legs to the pot for an extra filling meal! The kids go crazy! Just throw down some newspaper and dump the pot on the center of the table (drain first of course). What a presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This was great! I had friends over for dinner and everyone loved this. Easy to cook, tasted great, and hardly anything to clean up; esp. with paper plates and plastic forks! Great for an outside barbecue/ picnic type setting, just have plenty of napkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This is great for a party. Spread newspapers around and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States