Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I make Frogmore Stew all the time, it's a family/friend favorite in my house. I use smoked sausage instead of hot links and add 1 stick of butter. I also add more veggies like carrots and sometimes even brussel sprouts. When I drain it I save the broth to use in soups Adds lots of flavor to Cioppino, chicken noodle, and even chicken and dumplings. Oh and if you have a hard time finding Old Bay Seasoning you can use Pappy's Seasoning, Old Bay has a better taste but both work great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simply Whimsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
One of my daughter's favorites and it is just so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just awesome! Always a big hit at tailgates and large gatherings. Been making this for years! I add a 1/4 - 1/2 cup of Lemon Pepper to the boiling liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a favorite. Super easy & fast & everybody loves it. I add halfed lemons and onions to the pot for flavor, and will probably try a beer next time based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was delicious! I halved the recipe but I used an entire can of Old Bay. And instead of shrimp I used 2 lbs of King crab legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I just fixed this recipe for our son's 20th birthday! I told him to stay out of the kitchen, I was making Frogmore Stew! It is so easy to make and fun to eat! I threw in a crab boil bag as well as the Old Bay Seasoning to spice it up even more! We LOVE this as a meal...planning to fix on New Year's Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I was so excited to make this because the picture looks awesome and I like Southern cuisine. I scaled it back to serve 6 and followed directions. I cut each red potato into four sections and perhaps that was too small. A lot of the potatoes turned to mush. The presentation was still there, but not too many people went for this. One person thought the Old Bay was too overpowering. A couple of people even got nervous of the name, "frogmore." Perhaps I should have said "shrimp boil?" I'm really disappointed and won't make this again. I can't afford to waste 2 lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The town of St.Helena, SC use to be called Frogmore, SC. The islanders use to make this dish. Therefore you have the name Frogmore Stew. If you really love this dish you should try the local festivals in the low country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My husband loves this. We have been having this for the last ten years. We call it a shrimp boil, but I like the name Frogmore Stew better! This is great for a large or small party and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was simple yet good. Next time I will use keilbasa instead of the sausage because it made it too spicy for our taste. Nice to have another recipe to use my Old Bay seasoning in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States