Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made this for some family...everyone enjoyed it...it makes a LOT! It's so hearty and filling but so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Pretty good basic recipe. Everyone complimented and went back for seconds. Not sure there's too much more you can do with a "shrimp boil" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I scaled this recipe down to 10 and it made enough for 4 adults with leftovers for about 2 more servings. Gauge your cooking time for the potatoes depending on their size. Mine were tiny, so I only boiled them 5 min. before going to the next step and they were perfect. 5 minutes is a long time to boil shrimp. Stir the shrimp into pot, remove the pot from the heat, cover, and the shrimp will be cooked in around 3 minutes, depending on their size. As soon as the shrimp turn pink and have a slight "c" shape, they're done. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Wells

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
No matter the title, I call it delicious. As written, the cook time for the taters is too long (at least for my liking) and I like to add a halved onion or two to sweeten the pot. Oh, and a few glugs of beer don't hurt either (for the cook or the shrimp...). Fun recipe and a great way to feed a hungry crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've lived in SC for over 20 years and I can tell you this is Beaufort stew!! We call it Frogmore stew when there's crab - no crab, Beaufort stew; crab, Frogmore stew :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Really great! Added 1t crushed red pepper and wasn't too spicy. Will probably add a few garlic cloves next time...maybe andouille sausage...maybe onions...maybe mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I loved it! I had two helpings, which I rarely do. I served a side of traditional homemade coleslaw and crackers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vawork

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Great dinner that was really fun. It was just like a crawfish boil but way easier to eat and more filling/satisfying to be peeling shrimp instead of crawfish. We did follow someone's advice to cook corn seperately and started it when we did potatoes, so the corn came out really nice and spicy! Definitely will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used Tony Chachere's (forgive the spelling, I'm too lazy to check it right now). The corn kicked our butts. No kidding. Everything else was perfect, the corn however allmost killed all of us but a random few who claimed they didn't notice because they liked hot stuff. Next time I'll cook corn separately and then throw in at the last second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States