Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
AMAZING! This has been our go to dinner when we have guests. Everyone loves it! Its so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've always thought this sounded like a fun idea--yes--I know it's not a "stew". Sorta like knowing New Orleans BBQ shrimp is not "BBQ", lol! I sized this down to four servings, but used 1/4 cup of Old Bay, along with a quartered onion, several cloves of smashed garlic, and a bag of shrimp/crab boil. I even added a bottle of beer, per another recipe, for a total of 4 quarts liquid. I cook fresh shrimp all the time, since we can get wonderful wild Texas gulf shrimp easily, and we like to try recipes from different parts of the country. Maybe we're just accustomed to more assertive flavors, but I was expecting a lot more from this. I used red hot link sausages, which are pretty spicy as well. But the flavor was just not there. The potatoes were bland, corn was like it was boiled in plain water, and the shrimp were good, but just normal boiled shrimp. Next time I'll just boil shrimp in a couple of bags of crab boil and be done. Maybe a crowd of people and cold adult beverages are needed to put this recipe over the top. Should've just drank the beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I'm always looking for easy meals the family will love and this was a hit! I added clams and mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yermomica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Have made this for years. Loved by all. Last night my 12 year old nephew made it-his first cooking experience. Did a great job and so proud of his accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was excellent. I made this for Father's Day because both my dad and husband love shrimp. Winner, Winner. So easy, and the shrimp came out just right, juicy and delicious. I made Tartar and Cocktail sauce and everyone loved the Tartar with their potatoes. I put the sausage in first , then the potatoes, then corn and at the last, turned the heat off and put in the shrimp, covered and let sit for 10 minutes. Drained and put it all on a huge platter. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Shifflett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Cerrito, California, USA
Living In: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
i love this i live in alberta canada and wanted to serve something i havent seen before ....this is a big hit at my household i usually add an onion to mine at the same time i add the sausage just adds a little something extra and i dont use smoked sausage i just use regular old mild sausage ...its fantastic mmmm will make again and again :) thanx for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The kids always love this one! I start with the potatoes and corn, then add the sausage for 5 minutes. I turn off the stove, add the shrimp for a few minutes as they cook pretty quickly. I serve it in bowl, crusty sourdough bread and old bay, sour cream and cocktail sauce on the side. Use the bread to soak up the broth - so good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I've been making this for yrs. I lay out a ton of newspaper on table & just pour it all down middle of the table. Use your hands to eat! Or place toothpicks out for ppl. Along with some spray butter, salt & pepper. People are always impressed with presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe is the perfect camping recipe; even when we do it at home, my kids love it. Throwing it all out on the table is just kind of an added bonus. They love all the food included, they're totally okay with the spicy version, and I'm totally okay with the ease of it. Where we live, shrimp is not the cheapest thing but other than planning budgetwise, I make this whenever I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I scaled it down to four servings and added some crab legs and it was amazing and in fact, we each ate two servings. Added some beer and some bay leaves as suggested, otherwise made exactly as directed and served with butter for dipping. I also served with some wonderful crusty bread and we completely forgot about the bread until we were already stuffed to the gills--it is unnecessary! Thanks for the great and unique (to the Pac NW at least) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States