Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I was so excited to make this because the picture looks awesome and I like Southern cuisine. I scaled it back to serve 6 and followed directions. I cut each red potato into four sections and perhaps that was too small. A lot of the potatoes turned to mush. The presentation was still there, but not too many people went for this. One person thought the Old Bay was too overpowering. A couple of people even got nervous of the name, "frogmore." Perhaps I should have said "shrimp boil?" I'm really disappointed and won't make this again. I can't afford to waste 2 lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The town of St.Helena, SC use to be called Frogmore, SC. The islanders use to make this dish. Therefore you have the name Frogmore Stew. If you really love this dish you should try the local festivals in the low country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My husband loves this. We have been having this for the last ten years. We call it a shrimp boil, but I like the name Frogmore Stew better! This is great for a large or small party and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was simple yet good. Next time I will use keilbasa instead of the sausage because it made it too spicy for our taste. Nice to have another recipe to use my Old Bay seasoning in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv 2 Cook/Luv 2 Eat
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I revised this by substituting white button mushrooms, whole, 2 lbs; instead of potaoes, also added 2 cans of whole clams, and added celery, baby carrots, parsley, and a red onion. With this I was able to feed approx. 14 hungry folks, and boy was it soooo good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook/Luv 2 Eat

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
We LOVED this!! Very good and easy too! I'll definitely be making this again...and again! I used organic spicy chicken sausage (I cooked it first) and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome meal in one pot. I live in Canada, therefore was not able to find Old Bay Seasoning so had to make my own. I know that it isnt as good as the real thing but I just used: 2 Tbs Black Pepper Corns 2 Tbs Celery Seed 1/2 Tbs Sea Salt 12 Bay Leaves 1 Tsp Mace 2 Tsp Ground Cloves 1 Tsp Cayanne 2 Tsp Ground Cardamom 3 Tsp Paprika 2 Tsp Mustard Seed I put the spice mixture in a food processor and ground it down to a coarse mix, turned out great with the stew! Looking forward to picking up some Old Bay next time I'm in the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torgie39

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
it truely is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenmomof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I first had this at a crawfish boil. They used crawfish instead of shrimp -- so delicious. The seasoning and the method for this stew are so versatile with whatever seafood you'd want to use. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Really simple and flavourful. I made the mistake of using frozen corn instead of corn on the cob, so the corn kind of got lost amid the larger chunks of goodness. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States