Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used this recipe to celebrate my brother-in-laws retirement at a beach house rental with the family. Sausage, shrimp, potatoes and corn were on Dave's most liked food list. This recipe not only satisfied his preference for our celebratory dinner but allowed me a simple one pot easy to serve dish. It was better than Great! Fun with food at the table (even Sammy our 2 1/2 yr old liked it) now a summer staple. Added a bottle of beer and a quartered onion cause neither ever hurts. Took others advice and added shrimp once off the heat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I have been making this recipe for 25 years. I don't usually add potatoes and I use Seafarers crab and shrimp boil - 2 bottles - to add a little kick. My husband and father-in-law adore it. I serve it with lots of crusty bread and iced tea (or beer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was so yum and actually really easy! I put the corn in five minutes before the sausage as suggested by a previous reviewer and at the end (after draining) put a large pat of butter, minced garlic in and sprinkled some old bay on top. I would like to know how to get some of the sauce to saturate better. Maybe don't drain as much? We will be doing this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Querido

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made it tonight and it was a big hit, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
The food turned out fine. I mean it was all cooked when I went to eat it. It was bland add everything tasted of corn. :( I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Yep, this is pretty much what you get in the restaurants, except most of them add some snow crab legs. Not sure where they're getting them, haven't seen snow crabs in the wild down here, yet. Ate until we were full, and still had trouble stopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Soooo delicious, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great, easy dish. My whole family enjoys it. I often use frozen shrimp, and adjust seasoning based on who is eating. We like it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My family loved it. I did make the changes as suggested by other reviewers. Specifically adding: crab legs, 1 onion, lemon juice, beer, red pepper flakes, Bay leaf, Garlic cloves, Kosher salt (pinch), and chicken bouillon. Lots of delicious flavor! And lots of fun to eat. And they loved it served with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
AMAZING! This has been our go to dinner when we have guests. Everyone loves it! Its so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States