Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was so yum and actually really easy! I put the corn in five minutes before the sausage as suggested by a previous reviewer and at the end (after draining) put a large pat of butter, minced garlic in and sprinkled some old bay on top. I would like to know how to get some of the sauce to saturate better. Maybe don't drain as much? We will be doing this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Querido

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made it tonight and it was a big hit, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
The food turned out fine. I mean it was all cooked when I went to eat it. It was bland add everything tasted of corn. :( I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Yep, this is pretty much what you get in the restaurants, except most of them add some snow crab legs. Not sure where they're getting them, haven't seen snow crabs in the wild down here, yet. Ate until we were full, and still had trouble stopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Soooo delicious, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great, easy dish. My whole family enjoys it. I often use frozen shrimp, and adjust seasoning based on who is eating. We like it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My family loved it. I did make the changes as suggested by other reviewers. Specifically adding: crab legs, 1 onion, lemon juice, beer, red pepper flakes, Bay leaf, Garlic cloves, Kosher salt (pinch), and chicken bouillon. Lots of delicious flavor! And lots of fun to eat. And they loved it served with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
AMAZING! This has been our go to dinner when we have guests. Everyone loves it! Its so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've always thought this sounded like a fun idea--yes--I know it's not a "stew". Sorta like knowing New Orleans BBQ shrimp is not "BBQ", lol! I sized this down to four servings, but used 1/4 cup of Old Bay, along with a quartered onion, several cloves of smashed garlic, and a bag of shrimp/crab boil. I even added a bottle of beer, per another recipe, for a total of 4 quarts liquid. I cook fresh shrimp all the time, since we can get wonderful wild Texas gulf shrimp easily, and we like to try recipes from different parts of the country. Maybe we're just accustomed to more assertive flavors, but I was expecting a lot more from this. I used red hot link sausages, which are pretty spicy as well. But the flavor was just not there. The potatoes were bland, corn was like it was boiled in plain water, and the shrimp were good, but just normal boiled shrimp. Next time I'll just boil shrimp in a couple of bags of crab boil and be done. Maybe a crowd of people and cold adult beverages are needed to put this recipe over the top. Should've just drank the beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I'm always looking for easy meals the family will love and this was a hit! I added clams and mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yermomica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States