Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love this! I begged the woman that used to bring this to family funtions for the recipe. She said "NO!! It's a family secret!!" After a few years of driving her nuts. She relented. The only difference between my version and this one is the eggs. My recipe calls for 2 whole eggs. Just thought I'd pass that on in case someone out there only had 2! Cuts down a little on the bad cholesterol! Ha! Ha! Ha!---But the Carbs really make this a YUMMMYYY TREAT!!! We All LOVE IT!!!WHOLE FAMILY!!!! Merry Christmas from Ramona, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMommaT
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My friend's mother also made this salad, the only difference was she didn't add the mini marshmallows, which eliminates some of the sugar and still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very good. Something different to bring to a picnic. You definitely want to make it ahead of time and let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Add a little more cool whip to make it a little more creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
The way it is, is perfect. But there are a couple of things I like to do differently. I like to use the crushed pineapple that is packaged in water. I then drain the liquid from this in a measuring cup and add enough water to equal the pineapple juice. I feel like if I add the other fruit it would have more of a canned fruit cocktail taste. But I do add an extra can of pineapple.(chunk, tidbits or crushed and include this juice to the measuring cup) Taking the time to make the sauce is what gives this recipe it's deliciousness. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I loved this salad but my family...not so much. I think it's the pasta. It's a bit strange and they think it's too much like tapioca. I thought it was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Awesome fruit salad, but you do have to plan ahead. Kids & adults love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
My mom used to make this salad for me when i was a kid. its a great recipe and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
You need a big bowl because this is a very LARGE salad. Good recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was great! I cut the recipe in half because its just my husband and I, and it still made enough to last us 4 days! I also left out the cherries and marshmallows. Finally, I made whipped cream from scratch rather than using cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States