Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Awesome been eating it for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This came out great! I was missing our old local Deli's Frog Eye Salad, and found this recipe. I think I might try some of the others' suggestions next time and add the vanilla. I think that might add to it. No complaints though. I tried to make it a bit more healthy by using only fruit that was in juice and not syrup. Also, I don't know if I'll make it in winter ever again... it just had such a light, fruity, summery taste it made me bummed that it's only January, haha. Great treat though for picnics or potlucks. Does make a LOT! Thanks Jannet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I wasn't introduced to this salad until a few years back but I never attempted to make it myself. A few weeks ago I did and it turned out great. The only thing I did different was to used pineapple tidbits and also some crushed pineapple instead of the bigger chunks. I felt I was able to enjoy more of everything in one bite instead of eating a big chunk of pineapple and nothing else. That's how I prefer it but either way this recipe will be my go to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My family makes this for all the events. We absolutely love it. I have had this using a different recipie calling for pudding. Its not as good. This is the way my family makes it. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogiyms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Well to make it a bit more 'fresh' as a reader suggested, I myself dont like the canned fruit, so I used fresh fruit that was in season and did my own whip cream. To make it thick and to stick I used fresh OJ and heated it with cornstarch and water to make it thick. Recipes are a guidline and u can cahnge them often to your liking I do it all the time. Use a sugar subsitiute or just dont add it - its not that hard really. Only add things you like. I made this for St Patricks day and I colored it green (the whip cream is what I colored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
my mom used to make this when i was a kid so about 8 years ago i looked it up and here there it was. now i get yelled at by my family if i don't make this for every birthday and holiday. very good. just made a batch for my son's b day party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was not a big hit with my family. They love all the ingredients that was used in this recipe, but for some reason it was not well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very tasty! Good treat for kids to have now and then but be prepared for their sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Since introducing this salad to my friends and family I always get assigned to bring this to almost every reunion and barbecue! I omit the cherries and use the fruity flavored marshmallows to make it fun for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States