Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Awesome been eating it for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This came out great! I was missing our old local Deli's Frog Eye Salad, and found this recipe. I think I might try some of the others' suggestions next time and add the vanilla. I think that might add to it. No complaints though. I tried to make it a bit more healthy by using only fruit that was in juice and not syrup. Also, I don't know if I'll make it in winter ever again... it just had such a light, fruity, summery taste it made me bummed that it's only January, haha. Great treat though for picnics or potlucks. Does make a LOT! Thanks Jannet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I wasn't introduced to this salad until a few years back but I never attempted to make it myself. A few weeks ago I did and it turned out great. The only thing I did different was to used pineapple tidbits and also some crushed pineapple instead of the bigger chunks. I felt I was able to enjoy more of everything in one bite instead of eating a big chunk of pineapple and nothing else. That's how I prefer it but either way this recipe will be my go to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My family makes this for all the events. We absolutely love it. I have had this using a different recipie calling for pudding. Its not as good. This is the way my family makes it. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogiyms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Well to make it a bit more 'fresh' as a reader suggested, I myself dont like the canned fruit, so I used fresh fruit that was in season and did my own whip cream. To make it thick and to stick I used fresh OJ and heated it with cornstarch and water to make it thick. Recipes are a guidline and u can cahnge them often to your liking I do it all the time. Use a sugar subsitiute or just dont add it - its not that hard really. Only add things you like. I made this for St Patricks day and I colored it green (the whip cream is what I colored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
my mom used to make this when i was a kid so about 8 years ago i looked it up and here there it was. now i get yelled at by my family if i don't make this for every birthday and holiday. very good. just made a batch for my son's b day party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was not a big hit with my family. They love all the ingredients that was used in this recipe, but for some reason it was not well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very tasty! Good treat for kids to have now and then but be prepared for their sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Since introducing this salad to my friends and family I always get assigned to bring this to almost every reunion and barbecue! I omit the cherries and use the fruity flavored marshmallows to make it fun for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States