Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I get requests for this all of the time it's so good! I intially made it for a Big Love marathon party (we had funeral potatoes, frog-eye salad, carrot salad, and jello). It reminds me of tapioca pudding (due to the little round acini de pepe pasta) and ambrosia salad. I highly recommend this, espc. for potlucks and any parties. Easy to make and forgiving with substitutes. You can use fruit cocktail instead of pineapple and mandarin oranges. I use homemade vanilla whip cream instead of the frozen kind. Fantastic recipe! Very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Awesome been eating it for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This came out great! I was missing our old local Deli's Frog Eye Salad, and found this recipe. I think I might try some of the others' suggestions next time and add the vanilla. I think that might add to it. No complaints though. I tried to make it a bit more healthy by using only fruit that was in juice and not syrup. Also, I don't know if I'll make it in winter ever again... it just had such a light, fruity, summery taste it made me bummed that it's only January, haha. Great treat though for picnics or potlucks. Does make a LOT! Thanks Jannet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe! I wasn't introduced to this salad until a few years back but I never attempted to make it myself. A few weeks ago I did and it turned out great. The only thing I did different was to used pineapple tidbits and also some crushed pineapple instead of the bigger chunks. I felt I was able to enjoy more of everything in one bite instead of eating a big chunk of pineapple and nothing else. That's how I prefer it but either way this recipe will be my go to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My family makes this for all the events. We absolutely love it. I have had this using a different recipie calling for pudding. Its not as good. This is the way my family makes it. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogiyms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Well to make it a bit more 'fresh' as a reader suggested, I myself dont like the canned fruit, so I used fresh fruit that was in season and did my own whip cream. To make it thick and to stick I used fresh OJ and heated it with cornstarch and water to make it thick. Recipes are a guidline and u can cahnge them often to your liking I do it all the time. Use a sugar subsitiute or just dont add it - its not that hard really. Only add things you like. I made this for St Patricks day and I colored it green (the whip cream is what I colored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
my mom used to make this when i was a kid so about 8 years ago i looked it up and here there it was. now i get yelled at by my family if i don't make this for every birthday and holiday. very good. just made a batch for my son's b day party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was not a big hit with my family. They love all the ingredients that was used in this recipe, but for some reason it was not well liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was very tasty! Good treat for kids to have now and then but be prepared for their sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States