Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Frog eye salad is always a favorite for the holidays! But it's not a fresh green healthy salad; it's a dessert. I use organic sugar, fruit canned in their own juice,pear juice and water and light whipped topping. I used to always use whipping cream and whip it myself but I tend to go the easy way sometimes and use cool whip. I don't use the coconut, my DH doesn't like it. But what a great dessert!There are ways to make anything a little better on the calorie intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
First, it's not fair to give a low rating and then say "I didn't follow the recipe". Second, I've been looking for this recipe for a long time and couldn't find it because I always thought it was tapioca beads in the salad, didn't know it was pasta! Thanks for sharing, can't wait to serve it at the halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I gave this 3 stars b/c the flavor was great. It was the texture that was disgusting. The pasta ruins the recipe & I wonder if omitting it would leave an awesome fruit salad. I know it's supposed to be "frog eyes", but the pasta was bland & did nothing but take away from the great taste of the salad. I definitely recommend NOT substituting vanilla pudding for the cook portion of this recipe, b/c it is awesome! Maybe next time, I will make it without the nasty pasta (and I'm a pasta lover!) b/c like I said, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Tasted like canned, overprocessed, too much sugar, 1970s food. Not a hit at all. However my husband liked it so I'll give it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I FIRST HAD THIS SALAD ALMOST 25 YEARS AGO. IT WASN'T CALLED FROG EYE SALAD, BUT ITS THE SAME AND HAVE BEEN MAKING IT EVER SINCE. WE JUST LOVE THIS SALAD. EVERYTIME WE HAVE A BIG GET TOGETHER I HAVE TO MAKE IT. CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was an interesting salad. I gave it three stars because it wasn't horrible but, it wasn't as great as everyone here claimed it to be either. It was okay but, I don't think I'll make it again. It made way too much and I had to toss most of it away even though I did make it for a big get together most people looked at it weird and walked past it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My mother would make this for weddings and double it and sometimes not enough. also added cherries and chopped nuts also. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA COYLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very good salad that feeds ALOT of people. Just recently my husband had a pot luck at his place of employment, we made 2 batches of this salad, costing $23.66 to make.. considering how many people it feeds, I am VERY HAPPY plus the salad is DELICOUS! We have been making this recipe for YEARS, it's a KEEPER! I mix my pasta with the sauce mixture only overnite, then after it's refrigerated for 12 hours + I add my fruit and a 16 oz. container of cool whip. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Flavor was wonderful, texture, not so much. I loved the taste but I just couldn't get past the weird texture of the pasta. I wonder if there is another kind of pasta I could try with it? Also, using the ingredient measurements as stated makes a HUGE batch, way too much, even for our large camping group! I ended up only needing half. Again, loved the taste, disliked the "frog eyed" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did make this for the Graduation party and said I would rate/review again with what the guests had to say. Outstanding, and luckily I had printed several copies of the recipes for everyone who asked. I gave out around 60 recipes for this delicious salad. thanks. I did use mini marshmellows and I think that is what sold skeptics into trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States