Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
My husband is VERY picky. He only liked Frog Eyed Salad he got from one deli 35 miles away that cost $4.99 a lb. Thank goodness I found this recipe! He loves it. Only change I made was sub corn starch for flour. Mix 2 T separately with a bit of the pineapple juice and pugs in to juice mixture after it is heated. Then stir constantly til thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was actually good just salty...note to self slow down and read directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by we_b_farmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This has been in my family for years, and is always present at big family gatherings. Absolutely love it. I never add the coconut, though- I'm not a fan of the crunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My mom made this a few times when I was small. So happy I found this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Not many dishes all my siblings agree on and most of our kids as well. My grandma has always made this dish but with slight variations...more like 2-3 cups marshmallows, no coconuts...only mix pasta and mixture overnight and mix the rest the next day. It's perfect the way it is and I don't see myself trying some of the other suggestion. Be careful when following the instructions with the salt. Me and my niece made that mistake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, with reasonably inexpensive ingredients. I definitely would cut the salt back-at least by half, and not salt the water at all when cooking acini di pepe. The saltiness takes away from the sweet, and I prefer the sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Really loved this salad. Had never had it until coming to Utah. I used light cool whip and it came out great. Serves more like 20+ in my opinion. Sweet and refreshing salad or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
delicious! I think I'm satisfied for another year or so now that I've had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe is exactly like a "24 Hour Fruit-Salad" recipe that my family has made for at least 3 generations, at all holiday meals !!! The only difference is the addition of pasta, and the sub. of whipped heavy cream for the Cool Whip. This is loved by everyone that tries it, I have never seen a different reaction in 35 yrs. of making the recipe. One Easter I didn't make it and the family rebelled, so I never made that mistake again. This salad HAS to be in the fridge at least 24 hours for the flavors to develop ! As far as the suggestions by others to substitute vanilla pudding for the cooked egg,this would cause the loss of the best part of the dish ! Also, if you leave out the marshmallows, you lose the lightness and fluffiness of the dish. Coconut also caused the texture to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this! my family begs me to make it often! I don't change a thing! Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo
Home Town: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States