Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe is exactly like a "24 Hour Fruit-Salad" recipe that my family has made for at least 3 generations, at all holiday meals !!! The only difference is the addition of pasta, and the sub. of whipped heavy cream for the Cool Whip. This is loved by everyone that tries it, I have never seen a different reaction in 35 yrs. of making the recipe. One Easter I didn't make it and the family rebelled, so I never made that mistake again. This salad HAS to be in the fridge at least 24 hours for the flavors to develop ! As far as the suggestions by others to substitute vanilla pudding for the cooked egg,this would cause the loss of the best part of the dish ! Also, if you leave out the marshmallows, you lose the lightness and fluffiness of the dish. Coconut also caused the texture to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this! my family begs me to make it often! I don't change a thing! Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo
Home Town: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this last weekend for my family. They really liked it but it made soooo much. I have a family of 7 so I figured there wouldn't be much left since it says serves 8-12. This could have easily fed 20 so next time I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Our family has made this for several years, we omit the coconut and marshmallows and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I think this is the original recipe that used to appear on the box of Creamettes Acini Di Pepe pasta. It makes a boatload of salad and takes time to prepare (there are quite a few steps to do it right), but I've never had anyone turn their nose up on it. You can also freeze it, but the texture is different. I've even made it with quinoa instead of Acini Di Pepe. That freezes better. I've taken it to outdoor potlucks with crushed ice around the bowl. It also makes a good side dish with Christmas ham. Pineapple and ham were made for each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is an all-time holiday favorite of my family. Only problem is, when my kids were young they wouldn't touch it because of what it was called! This recipe is one of those that's easy to make your own by putting as much or as little of the ingredients in it to make people happy. Don't like oranges? Leave them out and put in more pineapple. The sauce is very important so keep the basic idea and quantity so the salad isn't dry. I'm going to try it today using OJ concentrate though. We'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmer'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Stratton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is great and makes a ton, I add drained fruit cocktail with cherries for additional color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
So delicious and refreshing!! I skipped the Coconut and added half a bag of Craisins. I would also add more like a half bag of mini marshmallows and use closer to 12 oz of Cool Whip. Next time I will be using 1/2 cup of halved Marachino Cherries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a wonderful salad. Found it when looking for wedding soup pasta. I had to make some changes as we have severe food allergies in our family. Used mango juice for the pineapple, and coconut juice instead of lemon. Instead of sugar used stevia. Since my son can't have citrus fruit, I used fresh necterine, peaches, blueberries, pear,and mango. It came out wonderful. And since I ommited the corn syrup it was truely healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband and daughters' and they loved it!! I just added cherries to it!!! Was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States