Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
We have been making this for 25 years. Always requested whereever we are going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Tasted very close to what the church luncheon ladies make but something was missing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Family loves this recipe made it for picnics several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This recipe is easy D...licious!!!! the whole pot was gone. thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is one of my favorite comfort foods! The recipe is perfect and reminds me of what we had at family gatherings. I followed the recipe exactly but for the whipped topping I used TruWhip (no partially hydrogenated oils) instead of CoolWhip. The other thing I should point out is that you need to make sure to use 3 quarts of water when cooking the pasta and not the amount of water that is listed on the back of the pasta package because the other liquids (e.g. pineapple juice) in the recipe make up for the reduced water content. This wasn't obvious to me at first. Otherwise, the recipe turned out perfect and I ate it every night for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
My husband is VERY picky. He only liked Frog Eyed Salad he got from one deli 35 miles away that cost $4.99 a lb. Thank goodness I found this recipe! He loves it. Only change I made was sub corn starch for flour. Mix 2 T separately with a bit of the pineapple juice and pugs in to juice mixture after it is heated. Then stir constantly til thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was actually good just salty...note to self slow down and read directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by we_b_farmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This has been in my family for years, and is always present at big family gatherings. Absolutely love it. I never add the coconut, though- I'm not a fan of the crunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My mom made this a few times when I was small. So happy I found this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Not many dishes all my siblings agree on and most of our kids as well. My grandma has always made this dish but with slight variations...more like 2-3 cups marshmallows, no coconuts...only mix pasta and mixture overnight and mix the rest the next day. It's perfect the way it is and I don't see myself trying some of the other suggestion. Be careful when following the instructions with the salt. Me and my niece made that mistake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States